Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Rifles, Bullets, Barrels and Ballistics

270 Sherman

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-01-2013, 10:00 PM
Silver Member

Re: 270 Sherman

Well,the FAA has determined that many PILOT ERROR accidents are actually a culmination of several small errors that result in a more serious problem.

This was a perfect example of that.

I have been reloading since 1976 and have had 3 "unfortunate incidents".

The first was when my dad went hunting and decided to take my 243. Well, that was all fine and dandy except he rummaged through my reloading drawer and managed to come up with about 3 loads in a cartridge holder that were in that drawer because the were off the end of my pressure test and were going to be taken apart. WELL, He managed to grab the hottest one and blew a primer!! It wasn't too bad- a good whack with a 2x4 removed the case and I still shoot the rifle regularly(this was in 1984).

The second came when I shot a reload made for the above mentioned rifle in a second rifle and got a stuck case because the bullet was well jammed from a difference in O.A.L I had to whack open the bolt and then extract the case by drilling it, tapping it, and pulling it(2001).

The above is the third.

All were preventable but were a culmination of small errors.

The first was to take apart immediately the high pressure loads.

The second was to make sure all loads fit the gun they were being used in and make sure they aren't over pressure as guns vary a bit.

The third was to make sure all steps are followed in the process, and to stop and think when something doesn't go right!
Old 03-01-2013, 10:25 PM
Platinum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by CogburnR View Post
Well,the FAA has determined that many PILOT ERROR accidents are actually a culmination of several small errors that result in a more serious problem.

This was a perfect example of that.