close
Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics

Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics Applied Ballistics

Reply

260 or 260AI

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Unread 12-07-2011, 02:59 PM
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 30
260 or 260AI

Is it worth the minimal expense, time and effort to bump to a 260AI as opposed to a standard 260?I have a rig in 260 that gives me good velocity with 140, which it likes. But is it worth it to go the 40 deg. route? I would like a little more velocity, but Im not sure I wind up with what I'm after.
Reply With Quote
  •   #2  
    Unread 12-10-2011, 08:57 PM
    Platinum Member
     
    Join Date: Nov 2008
    Location: Central Pennsylvania
    Posts: 4,155
    Re: 260 or 260AI

    There is a really good article on accurateshooter.com. I would do it.

    Tank
    __________________
    Matthew 7:13-14
    "Enter through the narrow gate. For wide is the gate and broad is the road that leads to destruction, and many enter through it. [14] But small is the gate and narrow the road that leads to life, and only a few find it.

    If you find your self in a fair fight, your tactics suck!- Marine 1st Sergeant Jim Ryfinger

    Friends don't let friends develop canonitis!-chucknbach

    arguing over the internet is like the special Olympics....even if you win, you are still...special!
    Reply With Quote

      #3  
    Unread 12-10-2011, 09:06 PM
    Platinum Member
     
    Join Date: Jan 2005
    Location: OK
    Posts: 2,133
    Re: 260 or 260AI

    Might depend a bit on how many rounds you have on the 260, and if you already have the dies. And if you are preparred to start with new brass, or anneal your current brass so it forms without cracking.

    I am going to barrel my next tac gun in AI instead of my current 260.

    But I have the Dies, have a bunch of sorted and prepped new remy brass, the chamber reamer ect so it won't add much expense.

    I also have a older 260 AI I could use to fire form as well, with all the load data from that gun of aprox 7-8 years ago.

    If you have over 1000 rounds thru the 260 I would just wait for a rebarrel.
    Reply With Quote
    Reply

    Bookmarks

    Thread Tools
    Display Modes


    Similar Threads for: 260 or 260AI
    Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
    260ai ishootaRUM300 Long Range Hunting & Shooting 1 05-23-2011 01:54 AM
    260AI Questions. kdog70 Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics 4 11-18-2009 02:59 PM
    260AI handload ?? MTGunner Reloading 2 08-16-2007 04:43 PM
    6.5x.284 or .260AI fredj338 Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics 4 04-16-2002 10:26 AM


    All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:43 AM.


    Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
    Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
    All content ©2010-2015 Long Range Hunting, LLC