Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics

Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics Applied Ballistics

.257 Frustration continues!!!!!!!!!!!!!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-17-2007, 11:19 AM
Gold Member

300 Winnie - I took time to read some of the past posts on this problem rifle - but admittedly not all of them. As a firearms/sniper instructor, I do a fair amount of troubleshooting on various rifles - but I'm not a gunsmith. Here's some questions and suggestions that might help, but it's hard diagnosing these things without getting my paws on the rifle:

1. Have you tried any factory ammo through the rifle? Something with a conventional bullet, not a Nosler Partition, not a Barnes TSX? If not, try some. Am not knocking your handloading, it's simply nice to have a baseline from which to work. A box of factory ammo can provide that baseline.

2. Have you tried any bullets known for their accuracy, such as the Sierra Matchking or Gameking? Very simple, forgiving bullets that respond well to a wide variety of seating depths and powder charge weights. These bullets are known to be accurate in a wide variety of rifles. I'd recommend starting with the 100 grain Gameking. Your 100 gr Barnes TSX is a great bullet and I've used it to take two mulies, but it's not necessarily the easiest bullet to work with. Being soft copper, it will also foul the barrel faster than a conventional gilding metal jacketed bullet.

3. Likewise the brass - I'll second the suggestion to try some factory built .257 Wby brass - and yes I've loaded for the .257 Wby before, including making brass from necked - down, blown out .300 H&H stuff, back in the old days. Get some factory brass, properly prep it, and load from there.