Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Long Range Scopes and Other Optics

Long Range Scopes and Other Optics Nightforce Optics

zeiss conquest vs. leupold

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-06-2005, 05:10 PM
Platinum Member

zeiss conquest vs. leupold

howdy folks, a newbie here,sure do like all the info here.since i cant compare them side by side i thought i might ask if anyone has experience with both the zeiss conquest in 6.5x20x50 vs. leupold 6.5x20x50 lrt.any input appreciated.thanks, jimm
Old 01-06-2005, 07:42 PM
Platinum Member

Re: zeiss conquest vs. leupold

jimm
I looked at both side by side, my 300 WM wears the 6.5x20 Conquest as does my 6.5-284, and as soon as I can save the coin the 243 I'm building is going to wear the 4.5x14 Conquest.
To my eyes the difference was clear, Zeiss hands down. Thats just one guys opinion,I'm sure you'll get more.
Chris
Old 01-06-2005, 08:11 PM

if you have the $$ for Zeiss go with S&B PM II or PM III ( 4-16 ) the turrets and clicks are hands down better.... and from experience so are the optics....
Old 01-07-2005, 08:47 AM
SPONSOR

Both are quality glass. I also looked at both and chose the Zeiss. Seemed to be brighter and clearer and eye releif didn't seem as critical on the Zeiss.
Old 01-07-2005, 12:10 PM
Platinum Member

Jimm,
I would strongly encourage you to take a look at the IBS or NBRSA 1000 yard and 200 yard equipment lists. You can see them in the match reports in the benchrest newsletters. I am looking at a 1000 yard one right now from a year ago, and there are 20 shooters. 11 of them are running Leupold Vari-XIII 6.5-20x50 LRT's, 2 are running boosted Leupolds, 5 are running Nightforce 5.5-22x56 NXS's, 1 is using a Unertl, and the last guy is using a Weaver t-16.