Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Long Range Scopes and Other Optics

Long Range Scopes and Other Optics Nightforce Optics


Reply

Vortex PST Disappointment

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #15  
Old 10-25-2011, 10:15 AM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 907
Re: Vortex PST Disappointment

Quote:
Originally Posted by sportmuaythai View Post
I love all you guys posting on page 2. I hope Vortex people will take advantage of this crisis and redeem yourselves. I must confess that I'm seriously deciding between Vortex PST and Sightron SIII Long Range, and positive response from Vortex will swing much in your favour.
I guarantee that if Cordell deals with the matter professionally, Vortex will bend over backwards to take care of him. However, if he goes in with guns blazing all bets are off. His problems will get taken care of, but maybe not with as much efficiency.

You have to remember that in most instances the owner dictates how well a warranty system works by the way they approach the manufacturer about their issues. Spouting extreme disappointment on public forums is not a good way to start the process.

I have sent enough optics back to know that when you treat these companies professionally, they will treat you like a valued customer and often times they will bend over backwards not only to fix the problem complained about, but they will be more willing to give extra compensation for the misfortune. Pulling the "post it on the internet so others can see my displeasure" is not a good card to play on your first move in getting your issues resolved.

Last edited by brentc; 10-25-2011 at 10:44 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-25-2011, 10:44 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SOCIALIST CONTROLLED TERRITORY OF NEW YORK
Posts: 4,388
Re: Vortex PST Disappointment

Vortex is not involved in this, thats the OP end of the game, everyone here knows they will fix any issue you have with there products.
__________________
"People sleep peaceably in their beds at night only because rough men stand ready to do violence on their behalf"
If you want to shoot Bergers start here!
http://www.longrangehunting.com/arti...accuracy-1.php
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-26-2011, 08:18 AM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Not where I would like to be
Posts: 128
Re: Vortex PST Disappointment

I dont think anyone is jumping on OP, I just think that he over reacted a bit. Vortex is a good company and the optics are fairly priced. I don't think it ruined his hunt. With that being said we are not talking about Super Highend optics here. This is not a million dollar lense for the Hubble telescope. Machining and contaminants all are involved as well as static charges when two particles collide microscopically thus small particles are being drawn together based on the gravitational pull of the moon in conjunction with field and stream hunting charts and of the geosynchronus orbits of the GPS telemetry and gimbal. All this would be solved with an alluminim foil hat with antenae. To block the bad JUJU of the vortexing black hole

Sorry I pulled this last part out of my arse.
__________________
DAVE KRAVETZ

"Life is tough; it's tougher when you're stupid"- John Wayne

Last edited by Silverback7; 10-26-2011 at 08:21 AM. Reason: spelling error
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-26-2011, 01:59 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Mukilteo, WA
Posts: 1,091
Re: Vortex PST Disappointment

Interior specks on the glass happens sometimes, even with some very expensive scopes. It's especially noticeable with FFP scopes on the reticle because it's magnified.

It's certainly not something I'd call a failure--of all the things that can go wrong with a scope this is as harmless as it gets. But if if annoys you Vortex or any of the other companies will take care of you, no need to fuss.

Often if you just ignore it for a while, the speck will disappear on its own after more shooting of the rifle (especially with a hard kicker) avoiding all the drama.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10-27-2011, 06:48 AM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 233
Re: Vortex PST Disappointment

Quote:
Originally Posted by Silverback7 View Post
Every manufacturer has quality control issues every once in a while. How does a spot on a scope ruin your elk hunt? Really?
I said I hoped it is just cosmetic, meaning I hope the junk I'm seeing isn't an indication of something more serious going on that would hurt tracking somehow. Can people no longer read in context?

Anyway, as for the hunt the scope wasn't an issue. The five elk we watched for two hours at 600yrds just across the property line was an issue. Things didn't move onto the shooting side until near dark and then stopped on the other side of the only trees that blocked the shot.

Glad to see people stopped jumping on the OP. Mine will go back to Vortex after Missouri's November whitetail season ends. I KNOW they will make it right.
__________________
Romans 12:12
www.projectsavage.com
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 10-27-2011, 09:24 AM
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 85
Re: Vortex PST Disappointment

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cordell View Post
I have a spec on my scope that appeared a couple months back. I finally had the time to look at my scope and make sure the speck was not on an exterior lens, (its not). While doing this I learned the inside of my scope has MANY stray particles. The inside of the tube even has what looks to be dried water marks. I took these two pictures the other night when I was off, had to hold the gun, flash light and camera it was fun. The think the spec is one of the “stray” particles from the inside of the scope. There are so many I have not even tried to count them.

Very disappointed!!!!! I will contact Vortex and see what they have to say about this spec and the stray particles. I am not a happy camper!!

Cordell,

I will trade you a Bushnell Elite Tactical 4-30x50 Mildot scope if you're this unhappy with your PST??? I want a Vortex in a bad way and if you're that unhappy with it I'd be happy to take it off of your hands!

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 10-30-2011, 09:55 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: La Plata NM
Posts: 355
Re: Vortex PST Disappointment

Quote:
Originally Posted by icanhithimman View Post
i dont know why you chose to post this. You should have just sent it back to vortex they will replace it or clean. They are a great company with outstanding customer service. Every company has products that have issues from time to time. This thread should have been about how great the company was after you sent the scope back and they made it right for you.

I agree. There is not a perfect company out there. Its what they do with the problem that seperates them.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads for: Vortex PST Disappointment
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Barnes triple shock disappointment 300 ultra Deer Hunting 79 09-09-2013 01:23 PM
7mm RUM/180gr Berger Disappointment Hicks Rifles, Bullets, Barrels and Ballistics 33 10-24-2011 04:45 PM
Weaver Tactical 3-15x50 versus Vortex Vortex PST 4-16x50 captainjoe Long Range Scopes and Other Optics 1 08-22-2011 12:49 PM
Vortex PST rinodods Long Range Scopes and Other Optics 9 04-03-2011 03:03 PM
FFP ro SFP Vortex PST emmagator Long Range Scopes and Other Optics 24 03-03-2011 01:48 AM

Current Poll
Do You Think Slingshots Should Be Legalized For Hunting Brown Bear?
Yes - 47.14%
907 Votes
No - 52.86%
1,017 Vote
Total Votes: 1,924
You may not vote on this poll.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC