close
Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Long Range Scopes and Other Optics

Long Range Scopes and Other Optics Nightforce Optics

Reply

Using MOA hash marks for hold over

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #15  
Unread 08-09-2011, 09:11 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Franklin,id
Posts: 252
Re: Using MOA hash marks for hold over

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay Kyle View Post
The best of both worlds is to use holdover out to about 400-500 yards - generally where you need speed!. After that dialing in will give more confidence in the shot.

For my hunting rifle I use drop cards that I build up carefully through the summer, I make them for different altitudes and keep the one I need for the trip tucked inside the butler creek cheekpad on the stock.

Jay
Couldn't have said it any better myself. I do exactly the same when big game hunting. Alot of times, you need to be quick out to 600 yds in my area, after that, you usually have time to dial. (Not that it matters, because I won't take a shot past this, without taking the time to find a solid rest and checking conditions).
Reply With Quote
  •   #16  
    Unread 08-10-2011, 12:24 PM
    Bronze Member
     
    Join Date: Oct 2010
    Location: Weatherford, OK
    Posts: 83
    Re: Using MOA hash marks for hold over

    I use a combination of tools depending on which outfit I am carrying. It gets exhausting sometimes. When I have time or I am target shooting i have started using the Let Fly Dlx app. It will let you customize for all of your rifles or use a panel of everage rifles of popular loads. It has shown to be accurate enought to hit 1 gal jugs on first shot out to distances I would not try hold- over on. It is an Iphone app but it may be available on other systems too. It allows you to customize for about any situation if you know your BC, MV, sight above bore, etc it will get you there.
    Reply With Quote

      #17  
    Unread 08-11-2011, 05:56 AM
    Platinum Member
     
    Join Date: Jan 2008
    Location: Northeast
    Posts: 3,309
    Re: Using MOA hash marks for hold over

    My eastern whitetail rig is a 270wsm Model 70 with a 3.5x10 NF with the HV Reticle, good to 600 yards. The Reticle thickness is perfect, and the calibration lines up with exactly my load. Like others I have the adjustment values should I need to go further. I really like this scope. The rig has great balance and doesn't have the bulk you get with the bigger and heavier scopes. While it only has a 34mm objective, I can't tell the difference compared to the 40mm Leupold 4.5x14 it replaced. An additional benefit is that I have figured out the Reticle points to quickly and accurately range a whietail to 400 yards.
    Reply With Quote
      #18  
    Unread 05-09-2012, 12:36 PM
    Junior Member
     
    Join Date: Feb 2012
    Location: Houston, TX
    Posts: 1
    Re: Using MOA hash marks for hold over

    Hello this is my first post and it is a question, sorry. I have a 300RUM and a Viper PST FFP moa reticle. Do I really need a 20moa mount?
    Great forum lots of good info.
    Reply With Quote
      #19  
    Unread 05-09-2012, 01:41 PM
    Silver Member
     
    Join Date: May 2012
    Location: Western CO
    Posts: 102
    Re: Using MOA hash marks for hold over

    you might want to give the free Strelok app a try, it should have the reticle built in to the app and show you where your holdovers are at each hashmark
    Reply With Quote
      #20  
    Unread 05-09-2012, 09:29 PM
    Silver Member
     
    Join Date: Sep 2010
    Posts: 381
    Re: Using MOA hash marks for hold over

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Hondo462 View Post
    Hello this is my first post and it is a question, sorry. I have a 300RUM and a Viper PST FFP moa reticle. Do I really need a 20moa mount?
    Great forum lots of good info.

    it completly depends on the range you plan to shoot the rifle
    Reply With Quote
    Reply

    Bookmarks

    Thread Tools
    Display Modes


    Similar Threads for: Using MOA hash marks for hold over
    Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
    I wan't. a scope that has 1 moa hash marks at full power timmyatnop Long Range Scopes and Other Optics 10 07-01-2011 04:51 PM
    Accurize your Vortex BDC and hash mark-based reticles Len Backus Long Range Scopes and Other Optics 1 05-23-2011 12:46 PM
    Values of hash marks for MP8 LRHWAL Long Range Scopes and Other Optics 16 12-24-2007 05:21 AM
    Marks on 190 SMK?? samson Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics 1 09-22-2005 12:58 PM
    Nikon Tactical half-mil hash marks - where did they go? craigp40 Long Range Scopes and Other Optics 3 06-23-2005 05:47 AM


    All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:52 AM.


    Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
    Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
    All content ©2010-2015 Long Range Hunting, LLC