Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Long Range Scopes and Other Optics

Long Range Scopes and Other Optics Nightforce Optics


Reply

Using MOA hash marks for hold over

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-10-2011, 10:14 AM
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 44
Using MOA hash marks for hold over

I am looking into the Viper PST for the power and illumination features as well as the MOA reticle which has nicely spaced hashmarks on the SSP 6-24 scope. What is the best way to determine hold over for each hashmark besides shooting myself a dedicated chart?
I will likely set the scope for shooting at 18x for long range shots so that constant will remain for each hashmark on the SFP reticle.. Any close up shots in 6x will be good to go right on the center crosshair for inside of 200 yards.

Had a Swarovski that had a dedicated schedule for each hashmark and my .270 load of 130 grains and would like to set up a simular plan...

To make things even better, I could have 2 schedules, one for 12x and one for 20x on the Viper.......
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-10-2011, 10:23 AM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: AZ
Posts: 228
Re: Using MOA hash marks for hold over

You could have the same hold over marks for all power levels (6-24) if you went with a FFP. To start I would run your info into a balistic calculator and see what yardages the hash marks would be. I believe the PST MOA reticle is marked ever 2 moa. Assuming it was a FFP on any power level my 300RUM would be dead on at 100, 240 @ 2MOA, 340 @ 4MOA, 430 @ 6MOA, 515@ 8MOA and so on. I just ran my info through Shooter. That is at 5k ft.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-10-2011, 10:34 AM
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 44
Re: Using MOA hash marks for hold over

I have looked at the FFP but the reticle seems thicker and more cluttered than the one that comes on the SFP moa... Am I being too picky? Where is Shooter? An app or is it online?

Last edited by drespecki; 06-10-2011 at 10:37 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-10-2011, 10:48 AM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: AZ
Posts: 228
Re: Using MOA hash marks for hold over

It is an app on the android market. I'm sure there are good programs available to do this on a PC. I wish shooter came with a PC version with the android version, but I always have my phone with me. I would't trust myself to get exactly the right magnification for my drop chart. If I did opt for the SFP, I would only use the reticle when I'm maxed out or bottomed out. The turrets will adjust for drop regardless of what power you are on. I use turrets for drop and reticles for windage, when I have turrets and reticles to work with.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-10-2011, 10:52 AM
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 44
Re: Using MOA hash marks for hold over

I wish I could get use to dialing in ranges but being near 50, it is ingrained in my brain to do the hold overs.... I will look on the Iphone app store to see what they have...
What have all the Nightforce people that do NOT dial been doing? Those have all been SFP until just recently...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-10-2011, 12:48 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: AZ
Posts: 228
Re: Using MOA hash marks for hold over

I too, at one time, didn't think moving my "zero" was a good idea. I eventually pulled my Swaro w/ TDS reticle of my 300RUM and replaced it with a Vortex. The good scope manufactures build scopes designed to do this. I don't know anyone using a reticle for drop in a nightforce, mut there probably is some who do. I believe the program my hunting buddy uses is "ballistic" on his iphone. I prefer the shooter program with the Litz tested BCs. In all honesy, at 1k+ there is still very little difference, better than most rifles will shoot. Vortex is very helpful. I would shoot them an email or call them and ask what the subtensions are for the MOA reticle, in the SFP, at different magnifications.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-10-2011, 01:04 PM
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 44
Re: Using MOA hash marks for hold over

I just ran the Vortex Ballistics Calc.. It seems to vary from the Winchester ballistics by about 2 inches at the 500 yard range...

Last edited by drespecki; 06-10-2011 at 01:40 PM. Reason: Error
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads for: Using MOA hash marks for hold over
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I wan't. a scope that has 1 moa hash marks at full power timmyatnop Long Range Scopes and Other Optics 10 07-01-2011 04:51 PM
Accurize your Vortex BDC and hash mark-based reticles Len Backus Long Range Scopes and Other Optics 1 05-23-2011 12:46 PM
Values of hash marks for MP8 LRHWAL Long Range Scopes and Other Optics 16 12-24-2007 05:21 AM
Marks on 190 SMK?? samson Rifles, Bullets, Barrels and Ballistics 1 09-22-2005 12:58 PM
Nikon Tactical half-mil hash marks - where did they go? craigp40 Long Range Scopes and Other Optics 3 06-23-2005 05:47 AM

Current Poll
Do you plan to buy a new custom rifle in the next 12 months?
YES - Of course - 73.10%
1,549 Vote
NO - wife/girlfriend won't let me. - 26.90%
570 Votes
Total Votes: 2,119
You may not vote on this poll.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC