Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Long Range Scopes and Other Optics

Long Range Scopes and Other Optics Nightforce Optics


Reply

Sightron SIII but no zerostop

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #8  
Old 12-13-2012, 01:44 AM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 108
Re: Sightron SIII but no zerostop

I actually called sightron a couple weeks ago and talked to them about this issue. They said they have no plans for a zero stop in the near future. I was told it would be after 2014 before they think about it, and even then, who knows. I was set to get two of these scopes, but after thinking hard about the zero stop, and reading about the glare problem that sightron in known for, Im as confused as an infant in a topless bar. I am trying to tell myself to save a ton of cash and buy the sightron. However, I am also telling myself to just step up and buy the nightforce and be done with it. Damn its hard being bypolar...LOL
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-13-2012, 04:09 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 270
Re: Sightron SIII but no zerostop

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elkwonder View Post
I actually called sightron a couple weeks ago and talked to them about this issue. They said they have no plans for a zero stop in the near future. I was told it would be after 2014 before they think about it, and even then, who knows. I was set to get two of these scopes, but after thinking hard about the zero stop, and reading about the glare problem that sightron in known for, Im as confused as an infant in a topless bar. I am trying to tell myself to save a ton of cash and buy the sightron. However, I am also telling myself to just step up and buy the nightforce and be done with it. Damn its hard being bypolar...LOL
I felt the same way as you do. I want to save money in long run. If I go plinking/hunting almost every month then I'll buy Nightforce.

I go shooting 2-4 months a year therefore Sightron will do a wonderful job. I do babysit my rifle and scope seriously. I ain't climb over the mountain and jump down 12' cliff, so on....

In my opinion, if I want to sell it in next 3-4 years, I'm sure someone will buy it from me.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-13-2012, 10:16 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Arkansas (Home of Record)
Posts: 1,266
Re: Sightron SIII but no zerostop

I get a chuckle when I hear/read someone gripping about how a mid level (or lower grade) scope doesn't have a zero stop like the big boy's do. It's like saying I cannot believe my Dodge Ram 1500 doesn't have the turning headlights like my friends $90,000 BMW. You have lived without one for years and now it's a deal breaker of what can be a good piece of equipment. I mean come on, I've read posts about guys complaining about scopes that cost $400 not having one.
Those little lines under the turret (few target/tactical turrets don't have them) are there for and reason and are appropriately named index lines. See picture one. If you still cannot remember, then write it down. See picture two.
My zero is BL2, I turned the turrets to BL4 for dramatics.
Attached Thumbnails - Click to View Larger
Sightron SIII but no zerostop-baseline.jpg   Sightron SIII but no zerostop-baseline-zero.jpg  

__________________
Courage is just fear that has said it's prayers.

The people trying to say the 2nd Amendment is outdated are probably the same folks that would say the same thing about the Bible.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-15-2012, 11:19 AM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 270
Re: Sightron SIII but no zerostop

I see a moose at 624 yards and I dial it up to the specific mil number. Shot the moose and it is done for the day. I dial it back to zero. I still feel that I do not "really" need a Zero stop. Hmm?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-15-2012, 02:08 PM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Terre Haute In.
Posts: 696
Re: Sightron SIII but no zerostop

Quote:
Originally Posted by No Fear in Accuracy View Post
I see a moose at 624 yards and I dial it up to the specific mil number. Shot the moose and it is done for the day. I dial it back to zero. I still feel that I do not "really" need a Zero stop. Hmm?
I'm a beleiver in the addage you get what you pay for. My shooting partner follows your line of thinking but seems he has a hard time remembering how many revs he turned in the heat of the minute, I just turn mine down till it stops (love my NF) He orderd a new scope NF which he will end up spending more by going the long way around seems you like what you choose, you don't have to convince US.
__________________
Rick

Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-15-2012, 09:52 PM
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 43
Re: Sightron SIII but no zerostop

On my SIII 8x32, one revolution takes me out past 800 yards. I don't switch from 800+ to 100 enough times in the blink of an eye while hunting to need a zero stop. But.....since it's a MOA scope I know I'm 15" high...........

Zero stop or not....if you don't know where your turret is at.....you don't know where your turret is at.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-15-2012, 10:44 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 8
Re: Sightron SIII but no zerostop

I have a fix for the problem! Get several 1 1/4 fender washers and a uni bit. Drill out the hole large enough for it to slide over the top part of the scope until it reaches where you are at your zero. { may need to sand the top washer to get final adjustment} and reinstall your adjustment knob. BOOM! Now you have a zero stop. LOL IM JOKING! I have a 10 x 50 also. it works great for what i do.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads for: Sightron SIII but no zerostop
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sightron SIII 8-32 vs. 6-24 Earnhardt Long Range Scopes and Other Optics 1 11-22-2012 09:28 PM
New Sightron SIII MOA Tikka Lover Long Range Scopes and Other Optics 33 02-25-2012 10:27 AM
WTB Sightron sii Big Sky or Siii jjblur Optics For Sale 3 01-17-2011 12:00 PM
Sightron SIII ? Moman Long Range Scopes and Other Optics 1 09-28-2009 01:00 PM
Sightron SIII ? samson Long Range Scopes and Other Optics 4 06-23-2009 01:05 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC