Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Long Range Scopes and Other Optics

Long Range Scopes and Other Optics Nightforce Optics

To side focus or not

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-05-2011, 11:36 AM
Bronze Member

To side focus or not

Is side focus worth it enough to dismiss any scope that doesn't have? What are the real advantages and disadvantages of both? Thanks
Old 02-05-2011, 11:44 AM
Silver Member

Re: To side focus or not

I am new to using the SF feature myself and I do like it better than having to reach out front to twist the A/O. Also its a much faster adjustment..
Old 02-05-2011, 12:01 PM
Bronze Member

The side focus helps you make fast adjustments. It'a very helpful in military and tactical environments. If you never plan on doing any tactical rifle match shooting or shooting where you are going to constantly change you range, it might not be needed. If all you plan on doing is normal shooting at paper and hunting, I wouldnt bother. Here is somthing to think about. Since the scopes invention in the late 1800 to present day, scopes didnt have side focus. I have quite a collection of rifles and only my tactical and target rifles have a SF knobs or an adj obj.
Old 02-05-2011, 02:09 PM
Gold Member

Need it, no. Like it, YOU BET ! Worth it, yes .
Old 02-05-2011, 02:30 PM
Platinum Member