Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Long Range Scopes and Other Optics

Long Range Scopes and Other Optics Nightforce Optics


Reply

setting zero for windage

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-21-2010, 06:11 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: illinois
Posts: 165
setting zero for windage

zero for elivation is not a problem but what do you do for windage? do you shoot 50 yard (little wind effect) or do you wait for a dead calm day??? do's and don'ts for a true zero? info please thanks guy's jv
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-22-2010, 10:16 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Coos Bay OR
Posts: 3
Re: setting zero for windage

Jorvin...

New guy here, see your not getting to many responces so here is my 2 cents worth.
For me windage is a thing that gets refinded as better condtions happen..Make sure your scope level is dead on.. I use 800 yds or so to get the windage finnal and to prove drop chart as thats about the other side hill here in sw Oregon. Lots of rocks to practice on. Royg
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-22-2010, 10:45 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: illinois
Posts: 165
Re: setting zero for windage

thanks royg i wish i had 800 yards to play with. most i can do is 200. waiting for a perfect day and then being at my range on that day is very hard to do. i was just asking if there was some tricks that i don't know about. thanks again jv
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-22-2010, 10:47 PM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: east central fl. /n.c. pa.
Posts: 634
Re: setting zero for windage

we simply sight in at 100 yds. and set the knobs on zero.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-23-2010, 12:18 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Coos Bay OR
Posts: 3
Re: setting zero for windage

Quote:
Originally Posted by jorvin View Post
thanks royg i wish i had 800 yards to play with. most i can do is 200. waiting for a perfect day and then being at my range on that day is very hard to do. i was just asking if there was some tricks that i don't know about. thanks again jv
No tricks really, just do the best you can with what ever range you can get.. Thats why i shoot lots of rocks. Easy to find and they are at different ranges and angles , so you won't get stuck with one range practice.
Lots of different things happen past 6 hundred or so, scope mounting angles get important and what your crosshairs do when you crank in a couple turns on the knob. All this will show up father out..
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-23-2010, 06:30 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: IOWA
Posts: 1,863
Re: setting zero for windage

I use a similar method as kyakfisher.
I will fine tune my windage zero while validating trajectory. I do this on calm days and shoot some longer distances.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads for: setting zero for windage
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windage card? helidriver72 Long Range Hunting & Shooting 13 08-20-2010 11:53 AM
Windage ndbwhunter Long Range Hunting & Shooting 1 06-16-2010 08:26 PM
Windage question sharpshooter1 General Discussion 2 05-16-2007 08:57 AM
Windage Calculation? LDO The Basics, Starting Out 3 02-28-2004 12:55 AM
Windage top for sale.. Jake in NC Guns For Sale 0 03-21-2003 08:02 AM

Current Poll
Do You Shoot Rifle Competition?
YES - 33.66%
764 Votes
NO - 66.34%
1,506 Vote
Total Votes: 2,270
You may not vote on this poll.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC