close
Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Long Range Scopes and Other Optics

Long Range Scopes and Other Optics Nightforce Optics

Reply

setting zero for windage

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Unread 02-21-2010, 06:11 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: illinois
Posts: 165
setting zero for windage

zero for elivation is not a problem but what do you do for windage? do you shoot 50 yard (little wind effect) or do you wait for a dead calm day??? do's and don'ts for a true zero? info please thanks guy's jv
Reply With Quote
  •   #2  
    Unread 02-22-2010, 10:16 PM
    Junior Member
     
    Join Date: Jan 2010
    Location: Coos Bay OR
    Posts: 3
    Re: setting zero for windage

    Jorvin...

    New guy here, see your not getting to many responces so here is my 2 cents worth.
    For me windage is a thing that gets refinded as better condtions happen..Make sure your scope level is dead on.. I use 800 yds or so to get the windage finnal and to prove drop chart as thats about the other side hill here in sw Oregon. Lots of rocks to practice on. Royg
    Reply With Quote

      #3  
    Unread 02-22-2010, 10:45 PM
    Silver Member
     
    Join Date: May 2009
    Location: illinois
    Posts: 165
    Re: setting zero for windage

    thanks royg i wish i had 800 yards to play with. most i can do is 200. waiting for a perfect day and then being at my range on that day is very hard to do. i was just asking if there was some tricks that i don't know about. thanks again jv
    Reply With Quote
      #4  
    Unread 02-22-2010, 10:47 PM
    Gold Member
     
    Join Date: Aug 2008
    Location: east central fl. /n.c. pa.
    Posts: 815
    Re: setting zero for windage

    we simply sight in at 100 yds. and set the knobs on zero.
    Reply With Quote
      #5  
    Unread 02-23-2010, 12:18 AM
    Junior Member
     
    Join Date: Jan 2010
    Location: Coos Bay OR
    Posts: 3
    Re: setting zero for windage

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by jorvin View Post
    thanks royg i wish i had 800 yards to play with. most i can do is 200. waiting for a perfect day and then being at my range on that day is very hard to do. i was just asking if there was some tricks that i don't know about. thanks again jv
    No tricks really, just do the best you can with what ever range you can get.. Thats why i shoot lots of rocks. Easy to find and they are at different ranges and angles , so you won't get stuck with one range practice.
    Lots of different things happen past 6 hundred or so, scope mounting angles get important and what your crosshairs do when you crank in a couple turns on the knob. All this will show up father out..
    Reply With Quote
      #6  
    Unread 02-23-2010, 06:30 AM
    Platinum Member
     
    Join Date: Feb 2008
    Location: IOWA
    Posts: 2,120
    Re: setting zero for windage

    I use a similar method as kyakfisher.
    I will fine tune my windage zero while validating trajectory. I do this on calm days and shoot some longer distances.
    Reply With Quote
    Reply

    Bookmarks

    Thread Tools
    Display Modes


    Similar Threads for: setting zero for windage
    Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
    Windage card? helidriver72 Long Range Hunting & Shooting 13 08-20-2010 11:53 AM
    Windage ndbwhunter Long Range Hunting & Shooting 1 06-16-2010 08:26 PM
    Windage question sharpshooter1 General Discussion 2 05-16-2007 08:57 AM
    Windage Calculation? LDO The Basics, Starting Out 3 02-28-2004 12:55 AM
    Windage top for sale.. Jake in NC Guns For Sale 0 03-21-2003 08:02 AM


    All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:29 AM.


    Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
    Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
    All content ©2010-2015 Long Range Hunting, LLC