Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Long Range Scopes and Other Optics

Long Range Scopes and Other Optics Nightforce Optics


Reply

Setting Scope Back to Zero

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #8  
Old 06-24-2011, 10:16 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 222
Re: Setting Scope Back to Zero

If you're actually counting clicks on a scope that doesnt' have some sort of turret which keeps track of minutes and revolutions, good luck. I'm not saying that it can't be done but I couldn't keep it straight so I've always purchased scopes that had at least a resetable target turret (Nikon Monarchs, Burris Tacticals, etc. have these so their not really high end equipment only).

Otherwise, what you should be seeing is the minutes you've adjusted on the scope and below that, on the stem of the turret, the number of revolutions. You'll have to pay attention to where the number of revolutions coincides with the zero you set for yourself when you reset your turret after zeroing your rifle. You can mark it or make a lable or photo to put on the side of you rifle to indiate the correct number of revolutions which coincides with the zero on your rifle. It's very doable and was the way it was done until the zero stops came out.

Cross
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-24-2011, 11:03 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Thunder Basin, WY
Posts: 1,788
Re: Setting Scope Back to Zero

Quote:
Originally Posted by xAsylum View Post
oh okay. so basically, lets say I move it up 56 clicks. I would just move it back 56 clicks in the opposite direction to move it back to zero, right?

Basically, yes; that is all you have to do. As cross mentioned, it is much easier to count minutes if you have a scope that will show minutes. Counting clicks is a PITA, and leaves alot of room for error. Additionally, if the scope has a micrometer type base on the turret, then you don't have to count back at all........you just record where zero is (example: zero is 4 marks showing below/above the rotating portion) and turn it back to that reference when you are done.

Some scopes have a "zero stop" which basically just doesn't let you turn it backwards past that initial zero spot. With these, we just dial for the shot and then turn it backwards until it stops moving. This stop is adjustable of course.

Here's a picture of a Leupold Mark 4, it doesn't have "zero stop", but it has the micrometer type of reference. It was set at zero at 100 yds for that load/rifle. In this case, we would note somewhere that zero is 5 marks showing.
Attached Thumbnails - Click to View Larger
Setting Scope Back to Zero-leup-mk4.jpg  
__________________
Aim small = Miss small
SBruce

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-27-2011, 04:34 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: PA
Posts: 1,066
Re: Setting Scope Back to Zero

I shoot in 500 meter groundhog matches with a pair of older NF 12-42 scopes not equipped with zero stops, and I constantly forget to turn the micrometer turret back to zero when I finish. Next match, my first shot is nowhere to be found. Usually I then realize I forgot to turn it back.

Some day I will find a way to install zero stops on them. The point is, the first thing you need to do is remember to turn it back.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-27-2011, 08:01 PM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Patagonia Mountains, Arizona
Posts: 752
Re: Setting Scope Back to Zero

Quote:
Originally Posted by xAsylum View Post
For some reason I thought there was a different/easier way to reset it back to zero.
There is. Reticles offered by Horus Vision (in several models) need no knob twisting or click counting at all. The numbers and major ticks are milliradians. The small ticks are 0.2 milliradians.
It may look busy, but it 's much faster to use than target knobs and less chance of getting "lost" than counting turns and clicks. Use it with a range card or ballistic calculator just like you would with target knobs.


Last edited by LouBoyd; 06-27-2011 at 08:21 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads for: Setting Scope Back to Zero
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Setting up a scope square? skip AI The Basics, Starting Out 20 10-30-2011 10:44 AM
Can I re cut a 260rem chamber to AI specs without setting my barrel back? ICANHITHIMMAN Gunsmithing 7 03-20-2010 10:42 AM
Setting back a 6.5-284 barrel, rechamber to 264 WM? sambo3006 Gunsmithing 2 01-03-2010 09:04 AM
Setting up a NXS Scope- How to do it ?? Down Under Hunter Long Range Scopes and Other Optics 9 12-14-2007 05:02 PM
Setting up a new Scope Garrett H. The Basics, Starting Out 4 12-01-2007 10:59 PM

Current Poll
Do you wear hearing protection while hunting?

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC