Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Long Range Scopes and Other Optics

Long Range Scopes and Other Optics Nightforce Optics

Scope suggestions needed.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-15-2013, 06:05 PM

Scope suggestions needed.

This is my first post on this forum and I'm just getting into target rifle shooting. Last year I purchased a Savage model 11 in 308 with the accutrigger and a Nikon ProStaff 3-9x40 scope. I also started reloading for 308 almost immediately.
I joined a local range that only has a max range of 100yds. I've been reloading and shooting 155gn (Hornady A-max) & 168gn (SMK) bullets mostly and have been trying to find the best powder load using Varget. The problem is that the accuracy of my Savage rifle with the light weight polymer stock and the sporter contour barrel is so poor (1.5-2 MOA @ 100yds) that I can't see a difference in my handloads except for POI. This made me decide to go down the accuracy upgrade path and I'm trying to do this w/o breaking the bank. The first thing I've done was to buy a Choate Tactical stock with an aluminum bedding system, since it was one of the few that was supposed to work for a Savage with DBM. I did have to inlet the trigger area to fit my trigger guard with the integral bolt release and grind a little of the aluminum bedding in the magazine well, so my magazine would fit. After bolting in my barrel action to the new stock I noticed just how out of place the little sporter barrel looked in the Choate stock. I decided then that a barrel upgrade just couldn't wait, so I ordered a Shilen S7, SS 26" barrel with the Varmint contour (1:12 twist), precision recoil lug, & barrel nut from Jim Brigs at NSS along with the necessary tools to do the swap. The barrel upgrade parts and tools should arrive on Friday 5/17, so I'm hoping to have it all installed over the weekend if all goes well.