Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Long Range Scopes and Other Optics

Long Range Scopes and Other Optics Nightforce Optics

Scope Selection for new LR Rifle

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 02-07-2008, 02:11 PM
Gold Member
Scope Selection for new LR Rifle

Guys, I'm very very new to the concept of Long Range Shooting and need some advice. I have a 300 Win being restocked and accurized and I need to decide on a scope for this. I have been set all along on getting a VX-III in 4.5X14X40 (1-inch tube) with the BC reticle to keep it lightweight and simple. But the more I read on this sight, everyone seems to be using turret adjustments rather than relying on the range compensating reticle. I have lately thought about getting this same scope but in the long range model, with the 30 mm tube so I could at least add adjustable turrets to it later as my experience grows. My initial thought with this was to have a 500 yard rifle, which I think either of these scopes would handle, but it seems most people outgrow this in time. I really need some good solid advice on this. :eek:

Unread 02-07-2008, 02:42 PM
Silver Member
there are just to may variables to those reticals you are smarter to go with the long range version with turrits or send one in to leupold custom shop and haveing them installed. the other thing that you will want to consider is that with the long range version you will have side focus instead of a AO on the 1" tube. you will be doing most of your shooting in the prone position and it sucks to use an AO. next is that you may say it now that you will only be shooting to 500yards. once you reach that you will want to go forther, with the retical you cant, with the turrits you can. good luck.
Unread 02-07-2008, 07:37 PM
Platinum Member