Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Long Range Scopes and Other Optics

Long Range Scopes and Other Optics Nightforce Optics

Scope -Dialing Up Elevation ?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-01-2006, 11:25 PM
Platinum Member

Scope -Dialing Up Elevation ?

Howdoo,
I'm just getting into dialing up elevation and have a couple of questions.
Whats the best way/place to start,sight in at 250yds and expierament out from there on your drops?

Do you have a mark or something to come back to zero ,on the elevation turret?

Is a simple card taped on the stock w/clicks per yards a good way ?
Going to try for the 500 yard club on my spring praire dog shoot with a 22-250. Thanks Mike
Old 02-01-2006, 11:59 PM
SPONSOR

Re: Scope -Dialing Up Elevation ?

[ QUOTE ]
Whats the best way/place to start,sight in at 250yds and expierament out from there on your drops?

[/ QUOTE ]
I'm sure someone will disagree, but I like to be zeroed @ 100 yds. For me, it just makes things much more simple.

[ QUOTE ]
Do you have a mark or something to come back to zero ,on the elevation turret?

[/ QUOTE ]
Depending on your scope, but most have a way to set a zero, so to speak. Whether it be by lifting and turning the turret or by loosening a set screw.

[ QUOTE ]

[/ QUOTE ]

Should work great. If you can, get out and practice a little at the ranges you plan to shoot to confirm your drops. With a little practice, you'll get the 500 yarder!!
Old 02-02-2006, 02:16 PM
Platinum Member

[ QUOTE ]

[/ QUOTE ]

That should work well but I would reccomend noting the adjustments in MOA and remaining clicks.