Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Long Range Scopes and Other Optics

Long Range Scopes and Other Optics Nightforce Optics

opinions on millet scopes?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-17-2012, 09:21 PM
Silver Member

opinions on millet scopes?

i have a millet 6-14x50 on my 300wsm. ive kindof played with the turret a little and it almost sounds like it skipps every now and then? im VERY new to using turrets so i dont know what to feel or listen for? is anyone else using this scopes? what do i need to watch for if its really skipping or am i just being paranoid?
Old 10-18-2012, 08:50 AM
Platinum Member

Re: opinions on millet scopes?

I've got a 4-16 x50 with 1/8min clicks, a current comparative model would the the TRS. Mine went from working as it should to not tracking vertically. What it did is what should have taken 3.3moa dial up took 4.5moa dial up. I researched it and found it's been know to happen with Millets. I took it off the rifle (intending to get rid of it) and ran both turrets both ways completely for about 45min. reinstall with a vortex scope level and it works as it should now. the only annoying thing about it at this point is there is a little bit of backlash in the turrets, not a big deal with vertical, just go 1/2 turn past zero then set to zero. But with the windage you have to pick either right or left to take out the backlash, then confirm how much adjustment to move it the other direction, or use you dots and line for windage
Keep in mind the animals we shoot for food and display are not bullet proof. Contrary to popular belief, they bleed and die just like they did a hundred years ago. Being competent with a given rifle is far more important than impressive ballistics and poor shootability. High velocity misses never put a steak in the freezer.

Joe
Old 10-18-2012, 09:40 AM
Silver Member