Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Long Range Scopes and Other Optics

Long Range Scopes and Other Optics Nightforce Optics


Reply

Nikon Monarch zeroing problem

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-29-2013, 03:39 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 4
Nikon Monarch zeroing problem

I've got a remington 700 with leupold bases and high rings. shooting a Monarch 3 6-24X50 scope. With a 200 yd. zero, I'm just about out of clicks to move the impact point up. I want to get the custom caps built, but don't have any more elevation to play with. Any answers appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-30-2013, 05:46 AM
kc kc is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Swartz creek Mi
Posts: 969
Re: Nikon Monarch zeroing problem

I would shim the back of my scope ring.
__________________
Keith Sage.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-30-2013, 05:49 AM
kc kc is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Swartz creek Mi
Posts: 969
Re: Nikon Monarch zeroing problem

I ment under your scope rail. my bad..
__________________
Keith Sage.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-30-2013, 05:29 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 27
Re: Nikon Monarch zeroing problem

What is that rifle chambered in and how far do you want to shoot? That scope only has 30 Minutes of available internal travel even with a canted based or shimmed base that small of an adjustment range will really hinder stretching out your rifle. My advice would be to sell that scope and get on with more internal travel. But depending on you cartridge and range goals a shimmed or canted base could be just the ticked. Out of those options I would go with the canted base in 10 or 15 MOA or get some Burris Zee rings and eccentric inserts those wont stress you scope like shimming the base can if you have a two piece base. Hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-01-2013, 06:58 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 4
Re: Nikon Monarch zeroing problem

Nikon says I can get the custom turrets out to 1020 yds. I'm shooting a 30-06. I;m thinking that I don't need any more clicks down than what I need to zero at 200. So if I get a base that will give me all my clicks going up I might be in the game. Probably just dreaming, but the gun shoots like nothing I ever had and I really like to use it to it's full potential.
Attached Thumbnails - Click to View Larger
Nikon Monarch zeroing problem-dscf2440.jpg  
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-01-2013, 09:29 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 27
Re: Nikon Monarch zeroing problem

I just ran some numbers with that bullet at 2650 fps 4500 feet 30 minutes to 1000. Its doable but depending on your altitude and weather it may not work out. One thing to check is if your windage is centered that can eat up elevation travel if it is biased to one side. Which brings up the issue of windage correction dialed for your shot not allowing you to get your full travel. Some scopes also behave funny when biased to the extreme limit of their travel. I'm not saying you won't be able to make it work but it would be much easier with more travel to work with. Let us know how it works out for you.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Current Poll
Do you archery hunt for elk?
YES - 32.14%
63 Votes
NO - 52.04%
102 Votes
Not yet, but I plan to. - 15.82%
31 Votes
Total Votes: 196
You may not vote on this poll.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC