Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Long Range Scopes and Other Optics

Long Range Scopes and Other Optics Nightforce Optics

newbie needs help

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-25-2011, 05:33 PM
Bronze Member

newbie needs help

Hi Guys, I could use some help with my new set-up.
I am new to long range shooting and am experiencing "lack-of-experience" issues.
I am shooting a 300WSM HS Precision which is new. I topped it with a Nightforce NXS 5.5-22 scope on a 20 moa NF base.

I dialed in the scope to shoot zero at 100 yds... nice 3/4 inch groups with Winchester supreme 180 gr. e-tips, shooting off a back-pack on a four wheeler for a rest. I decided to give a long range shot a try.... backed up to 450 yds, using a ballistic FTE calculator on my iphone it showed a bullet drop of -33 inches. So, I dialed my scope up 28 clicks or 7 MOA.. I torched off six rounds and got a 8 inch group that had a POI eight inches high....... What did I do wrong besides NOT following the well written article on setting up a new outfit found on this site? All comments are welcome including the smart-alec type....... Thank you

For clarification, I am not concerned about the grouping, but rather why the group at 450 yards was high by so much, I have never used a scope with tactical turrets and am concerned since I got a decent group but too high POI I did something wrong??

Last edited by regularjoe; 07-25-2011 at 09:07 PM.
Old 07-26-2011, 04:17 PM
Silver Member

Re: newbie needs help

I suggest you measure the speed of your bullet. Go to a chronograph and see if you are getting the speed that is advertised for your particular load. In many cases the speed will be different from the advertised velocity and you will need to adjust for that in your ballistic program.
Old 07-26-2011, 04:22 PM
Bronze Member

Thanks lightwind,