Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Long Range Scopes and Other Optics

Long Range Scopes and Other Optics Nightforce Optics

new rifle and scope

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-14-2002, 11:41 PM
Silver Member

Re: new rifle and scope

Nighthawk,

I'm gonna show my ass a bit here,, and let ya in on my personal expierence.

I started shooting 1K with a 308win, Leupold M3LR,, all factory stuff, nothing real fancy but nice. I do alright with it, but wind kicks my ass and so do the other shooters with high dollar rigs and higher BC bullets. So I went to a smith built 6.5x284 with a Nightforce to be more competitive.

Now,, that I have a couple winning matches behind me, I still don't feel the satisfaction I thought I would because it kinda feels like I bought my way in and didn't earn it.

We have a guy at the range, Gene "the man" Graham, who shoots a bone stock Savage 110TAC in 308 with a tasco 10X SS scope who usually shoots in the high 190's with an X count in the 8 to 10 range. I can't beat him with a 308 and have a hard time with a 6.5x284. He's a better shooter than I am, and knows his **** but refuses to spend the money needed to beat the high dollar rigs.

What's that have to do with your question? I guess not much, but having the better equipment doesn't make me a better shoter. It makes me lazy, and ultimatly hurts me as a competitor.

If you got the cash to build these sticks, great,, do it and have fun with them,, but don't think that buying your way to the top is gonna make you a better shooter.

FatBoy...

PS. 1000 to 1500 yards is NOT medium distance. That's a long ass way mang,, no matter what you're shooting.

[ 09-14-2002: Message edited by: FatBoy... ]
Old 09-15-2002, 08:13 AM
*WyoWhisper*