Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Long Range Scopes and Other Optics

Long Range Scopes and Other Optics Nightforce Optics

new rifle and scope

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-13-2002, 04:01 PM
Silver Member

new rifle and scope

I have a couple of questions on a new rifle and scope. Most of you know I plan to build a .408 and a .30-378 (changed to a 7.82 Warbird) but I was also thinking of having a rifle for a little shorter diestance. For shooting out to maybe 1000-1500 yards with a 7.82 Patriot, would you get a 2.6-12.2X or a 3.2-16X SN-3? Also for that distance what legnth barrel, 26 or 28 for use with a 190 grain J40? The last thing is, what zize objective and main tube do you guys think I should have? Rember I'm new to longer range shooting that you guys do so I'm trying to learn as much as possible.
Thank You
Old 09-14-2002, 10:14 AM
Gold Member

Re: new rifle and scope

A few weeks ago, you told DANTEC that you had a 30-378, and were getting one hole groups out of it... now you say that you are planing to build one???

Just what rifles do you really own RIGHT NOW?

CS

LRH member #23
Old 09-14-2002, 10:23 AM
Silver Member

Maybe a Ruger 10/22 and a 30-30?? [img]images/icons/shocked.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/shocked.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/shocked.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img]

MM
Old 09-14-2002, 10:48 AM
Silver Member

dear Nighthawk

that my last post for you because you don't seem to read what you write and read the answers to the question you have post .

to begin to shoot and start to learn no need to be the owner of THE RIFLE OF THE CENTURY in the AMAZING CALIBER OF THE YEAR