Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Long Range Scopes and Other Optics

Long Range Scopes and Other Optics Nightforce Optics

Need help figuring out what heighth of scope ring to buy

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-17-2014, 11:22 PM

Need help figuring out what heighth of scope ring to buy

I bought a Vortex Viper PST 6-24x50 that will be here in the middle of the week. I have a hunt this coming weekend and would like to have it mounted and sighted in before this weekend. For this to happen I need to order rings before the scope get here so they will be here in time. I planned on ordering some from the vortex website but can not decide what height to order. My scope base is about 5/8 of an inch above the barrel and it is a picatinny base. Can anyone help me with what height I would need. Sorry this is my first time buying scope rings and without the scope in hand it's hard for me to decide what to buy.
Old 02-19-2014, 11:16 AM
Bronze Member

Re: Need help figuring out what heighth of scope ring to buy

missing a couple of details to determine that answer, what kind of rifle and barrel contour is this scope being mounted??

Most scopes with a 50mm objective lens will require a high ring, unless its a thin barrel contour then you may be able to get away with a medium, if the contour of the barrel is larger, then super high may be needed.

But tough to say without the details mentioned above
Old 02-19-2014, 09:13 PM
Silver Member

I have the same scope as you are getting on my Remington 700P. They are sitting in a set of Burris Extreme medium height rings. Works fine. Been thinking about setting in some low rings to see if it would work.

Hope this is some help.

Jason
Old 02-19-2014, 09:48 PM
Silver Member