Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Long Range Scopes and Other Optics

Long Range Scopes and Other Optics Nightforce Optics


Reply

Lawton Actions - scope bases ?

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-17-2008, 06:15 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 2,133
Lawton Actions - scope bases ?

I had purchased a LH Lawton 7000 SS action (Rem 700 clone) for a new .308 build. The rifle just arrived and I intended to install a set of Burris DD bases and Signature rings which have been sitting here waiting for the rifle.

Now that I have taken a closer look at the action I noticed that the receiver has two sets of holes which are spaced the same, I believe .860" ctr to ctr. (unlike a Rem 700), and the holes are larger, 8-40.

I contacted Lawton and they said to just put two front bases on the rifle and I shouldn't have a problem. However they also said that I would have to drill the holes out in the bases to accomodate the fatter screws.

Can I just open the base holes up and still have enough shoulder left in the base hole for the new screw heads to grab properly?

Any other suggestions?

Last edited by Varmint Hunter; 01-18-2008 at 09:08 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-17-2008, 08:15 PM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: FREE RUN, MS
Posts: 774
why not just have ordered one while ya had em on the phone? rail that is. ive got a 7500 dont know the diff in the two base/rail wise, but pm fifytydriver I know he knows!

I know the feeling of finding out the unknown just when its all about to go toether and be "race ready". sucks!

thats just a option!
__________________
MEMBER "AM STRIKEFORCE"
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-18-2008, 09:05 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 2,133
Quote:
Originally Posted by NYLES View Post
why not just have ordered one while ya had em on the phone? rail that is. ive got a 7500 dont know the diff in the two base/rail wise, but pm fifytydriver I know he knows!

I know the feeling of finding out the unknown just when its all about to go toether and be "race ready". sucks!

thats just a option!
They only sell tapered bases, no straight bases and that's not what I'm interested in for this rifle. It was their suggestion to use 2 front Burris bases when I told them I wanted to use Burris Signature rings. (I have a Burris base & ring set here, not realizing that they wouldn't fit)

Last edited by Varmint Hunter; 01-18-2008 at 09:11 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-18-2008, 09:28 AM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: FREE RUN, MS
Posts: 774
Looks like your still in the pickle jar! Unless you have 2 FRONT bases to drill. You still gotta spend more. 20moa rail aint that bad unless you dont want it in the way and need the space up top. Is chamber access space why you dont want the rail? or is it the 20 MOA?

Just trying to help.
__________________
MEMBER "AM STRIKEFORCE"
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-18-2008, 10:05 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 2,133
Quote:
Originally Posted by NYLES View Post
Looks like your still in the pickle jar! Unless you have 2 FRONT bases to drill. You still gotta spend more. 20moa rail aint that bad unless you dont want it in the way and need the space up top. Is chamber access space why you dont want the rail? or is it the 20 MOA?

Just trying to help.
This rifle is a short/med range hunting rifle (.308) with a light barrel, and I prefer the mount low. There would be no need for a 20MOA tapered base. Lawton's web site appears to offer a straight base which I figured was lower than the tapered bases, but they said they have only been talking about offering a straight base. None are actually available.

I understand why they would drill oversize base holes but don't know why they used different hole spacing for the rear base. I guess it doesn't matter because a 700 rear base would be to high on this receiver anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-18-2008, 10:46 AM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: FREE RUN, MS
Posts: 774
For some mesurment info I mounted a 50mm NF on NF lowest rings with the 20 moa rail and it sits about a 1/4" above the barrel. ended up alot better fit than expected after 50 told me that Lawton rails sit pretty high, I was expecting a minimun of med rings but it turned out great!

20 moa would only force you to dail your scope way down, but would allow for a TON of up-page if you ever needed it.

Good luck! with whatever ya end up using.
Sorry could help ya more!

Get something on that new rig and let em fly!
__________________
MEMBER "AM STRIKEFORCE"
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-11-2013, 10:32 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Round Rock, TX
Posts: 180
Re: Lawton Actions - scope bases ?

Oops... Didn't mean to post here and can't delete
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads for: Lawton Actions - scope bases ?
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems with Lawton actions? Alaskan338Lapua Gunsmithing 17 01-08-2010 11:35 AM
About Lawton magazined Actions...... mindcrime Rifles, Bullets, Barrels and Ballistics 0 08-10-2009 12:42 PM
Lawton actions and barrels RockyMtnMT Rifles, Bullets, Barrels and Ballistics 14 03-22-2009 09:06 AM
Surgeon- Lawton Actions jwp475 Rifles, Bullets, Barrels and Ballistics 3 04-15-2007 06:44 PM
Lawton Actions and Barrels wildcat Equipment Discussions 20 09-21-2006 05:37 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC