Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Long Range Scopes and Other Optics

Long Range Scopes and Other Optics Nightforce Optics

The thread is closed

Huskemaw?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-09-2010, 04:59 PM
Platinum Member

Huskemaw?

I am probably going to get a lot of hate mail for this but I thought I would share it anyway. As some of you know I am new to the long range scene. I have always spent countless hours working up loads and fine tuning my rifles but as far as the long range thing goes im only about a year deep in it. I have a Tikka T3 lite in 25-06 with a Zeiss Rapid Z-800 on it. I only have a few hundred rounds through the rifle since I mounted this scope on it. Like I said my experience is no where near close to what many of you have with LR hunting and shooting. I have a cousin and her and her fiancee work for BOTW they are huge believers of the Huskemaw. They have always been insistent that if I tried their scope just once I would love it and never look back. Well one sunday a few weeks ago I got a call and they said they were driving the hour to my town and we were gonna go shooting. I was pretty excited to finally see what this scope was all about. I had taken the scope off my tikka because I was planning on buying some Talley one piece rings but decided to put it back on for our little shoot. I bore sighted it and I was ready to go. We got out there and set up one of my 8" metal Gongs and we drove out to 500 so I could see how close my scope was to being on. I smacked it the first shot so called it good enough for what we were doing. Then we drove out to 800 (my maximum range with the Rapid Z 800) so we could compare apples to apples. They had a cooper 6.5x284 and a custom 264 win mag both with huskemaw scopes. First they shot several times with the 6.5 and couldnt hit it. then the 264 several times and never hit it. Thats ok not a representation of