Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Long Range Scopes and Other Optics

Long Range Scopes and Other Optics Nightforce Optics

FFP or SFP Please vote

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-15-2012, 10:36 PM
Platinum Member

Re: FFP or SFP Please vote

Being interested in my first FFP scope this has turned out to be a good thread. I hope the OP got a lot of info out of it as I have. I have been dialing elevation for 4 years now and agree with Jeff this is the way to go beyond the zero setup on the rifle and I have not had a incident where I did not have time to dial elevation.

My future plan is to dial each time when the range is beyond the rifle setup and hold off for wind using the reticle and eliminate the error factor of being on the wrong power. I think holding off for wind and being able to quickly adjust to the environment is a really good way to go if one's ability to read the wind is efficient. As for using the elevation hash marks for holdover it could get dicey when the pressure is on but will see with the new scope. I think with a lot of time and practice one might get pretty good at it.

Thank all you guys who are in the know and posted. Very good thread and thanks to the OP for posting.

There is something about the outside of a horse that is good for the inside of a man. Sir Winston Churchill.

Everything that is really great and inspiring is created by the individual who can labor in freedom. Einstein
Old 11-15-2012, 10:52 PM
Gold Member

Jim, when you say using elevation hash marks for windage holdover what does that mean? Did you mean windage hash mark for wind holds???
Old 11-15-2012, 10:55 PM
Gold Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by shortpants View Post
Jim, when you say using elevation hash marks for windage holdover what does that mean? Did you mean windage hash mark for wind holds???