Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Long Range Scopes and Other Optics

Long Range Scopes and Other Optics Nightforce Optics

Duplex Reticle - At a disadvantage?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-03-2010, 04:34 PM
Bronze Member

Duplex Reticle - At a disadvantage?

I recently purchased a Nikon Tactical 2.5-10x44 scope. The scope came with Nikon's Nikoplex reticle, which wouldn't have been my first choice but the price was too good to pass up.

I plan on mounting it on an AR15 with a Burris P.E.P.R mount. Principle purpose is cutting paper and as a varmint rifle. I'd like to reach out to 600 yards but admittedly I'm new to mildot/ranging reticles and turrets that allow me to dial in elevation changes.

My experience is with hunting rifles and staying within the maximum point blank range of a particular round. When shots presented themselves beyond that range or I need to compensate for wind, holdover and Kentucky windage was the method I used.

I'll have a range card for the rifle and only shoot one load in this rifle. I'll also rely on a laser range finder to help with distance to the target.

Does the duplex reticle present a disadvantage given the intended purpose?
Old 08-03-2010, 05:07 PM
Gold Member

Re: Duplex Reticle - At a disadvantage?

If you are dialing changes then the duplex is no disadvantage, in some ways it is an advantage as there is only one aiming point.

Stu.
Old 08-03-2010, 05:14 PM
Bronze Member

Stu: Thanks. Kind of my thinking as well if I have the correct dope on the rifle/round combination. Compensating for the wind could get interesting, but that has always seemed like more of an art than a science.

Wind in Colorado always has the tendency to change what it is doing the moment before the trigger breaks.

Mike
Old 08-03-2010, 05:48 PM
Gold Member