Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Long Range Scopes and Other Optics

Long Range Scopes and Other Optics Nightforce Optics


Reply

Do I need Lok Tite for my new Nightforce?

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-22-2010, 09:03 AM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: NC mountains
Posts: 508
Do I need Lok Tite for my new Nightforce?

Mounting a new Nightforce on a new rifle this weekend. Do you guys use anything to lock the threads? Do you lock all the threads or just particular ones? Thanks for he replies!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-22-2010, 10:23 AM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 349
Re: Do I need Lok Tite for my new Nightforce?

Yes, but only on the action/ base screws.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-22-2010, 11:00 AM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: NC mountains
Posts: 508
Re: Do I need Lok Tite for my new Nightforce?

So no Lok tote on the rings anywhere right?
What kind of thread locker is best?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-22-2010, 11:22 AM
B23 B23 is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Spokane, Wa.
Posts: 930
Re: Do I need Lok Tite for my new Nightforce?

What are you using for a base and rings? NF scopes are awesome scopes but they are heavy so I hope you're using a good quality base and rings.

Trust me when I say it cause I've learned the hard way, there is NO substitute for good rings and bases when mounting a heavy scope like a NF. If this NF is going on a big boomer good quality rings and bases become even MORE important.

Blue loctite is the strongest you want to use.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-22-2010, 07:23 PM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: NC mountains
Posts: 508
Re: Do I need Lok Tite for my new Nightforce?

The scope is going on a Savage 7mm Rem mag. I just got the one piece NF Savage 20moa base and the NF titanium alloy rings in the mail today. Looking forward to this project. Going to order the match grade pipe next week.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-22-2010, 08:28 PM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 863
Re: Do I need Lok Tite for my new Nightforce?

I dont recall reading that in nf directions about lok-tite. they are very specific on torque lbs. i have 400 rounds thru my edge and no problem.
mike
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-22-2010, 08:38 PM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: NC mountains
Posts: 508
Re: Do I need Lok Tite for my new Nightforce?

Cool. I may just skip the thread locker altogether. I'm sure the edge has quite a bit more recoil than my little 7. Thanks for the input.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads for: Do I need Lok Tite for my new Nightforce?
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Satisfied Users Of Nightforce Scopes From Nightforce Optics Len Backus Long Range Scopes and Other Optics 34 10-17-2011 04:37 AM
G7 Nightforce NXS? rcdinaz Long Range Scopes and Other Optics 8 05-03-2011 10:45 AM
Nightforce G7 NXS 5.5-22 cjuve Optics For Sale 14 04-23-2011 11:02 AM
Nightforce NXS vs Nightforce Benchrest meta Long Range Scopes and Other Optics 12 12-24-2009 03:31 AM
Nightforce NXS 5.5x22x56 w/Nightforce Titanium Rings **TRADED** HoustonPDLt Optics For Sale 4 01-23-2008 06:48 PM

Current Poll
Spot & Stalk or Ambush For Western Deer?
MOSTLY - Spot & Stalk - 73.65%
1,006 Vote
MOSTLY - Ambush - 26.35%
360 Votes
Total Votes: 1,366
You may not vote on this poll.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC