Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Long Range Scopes and Other Optics

Long Range Scopes and Other Optics Nightforce Optics


Reply

Do I need a 20MOA base?

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-14-2013, 10:46 PM
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Posts: 45
Do I need a 20MOA base?

I have a Savage 11FCNS in .260 Remington w/ a Douglas XX barrel and a "no MOA" picatinny rail mounted to the reciever. I just bought a Sightron S3 6-24X50 MOA-2 scope and I want to use the combo to reach out to 1000 yards. Would it be wise to get a 20MOA rail or will the flat rail be ok? The S3 has 100MOA of adjustment.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-14-2013, 10:57 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Townsend, Montana.
Posts: 7,734
Re: Do I need a 20MOA base?

Quote:
Originally Posted by derrelw View Post
I have a Savage 11FCNS in .260 Remington w/ a Douglas XX barrel and a "no MOA" picatinny rail mounted to the reciever. I just bought a Sightron S3 6-24X50 MOA-2 scope and I want to use the combo to reach out to 1000 yards. Would it be wise to get a 20MOA rail or will the flat rail be ok? The S3 has 100MOA of adjustment.
If your scope has 100 internal MOA of elevation you should end up with 50 up and 50 down zeroed at 100 in a perfect world. A 1000 yard shot on average with most good long range rigs will require 20 to 25 moa depending on your load and bullet. So the short answer is you will have plenty to reach 1000 with your zero cant rail.

jeff
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-15-2013, 07:18 AM
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Posts: 45
Re: Do I need a 20MOA base?

Thanks for the quick reply!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-15-2013, 10:22 AM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 113
Re: Do I need a 20MOA base?

Good thing about Sightrons is the amount of adjustment they have, you will be good to go to a 1000yds with your current setup.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-17-2013, 04:17 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 11
Re: Do I need a 20MOA base?

and I will be the stick in the mud that says a 20 degree base isn't going to hurt you. At the upper range of that scope you are going to be knocking on the back door of optical limits. It would appear you have enough (+50 moa) half the 100 moa range, as I read it, but a 20 degree rail will keep you closer to mechanical zero.

Sightron is good stuff with a good reputation, I don't care what it is, anytime you are keeping a scope closer to its mechanical limits it is going to be better for it. I say if 1000 is in your future it is a relatively cheap investment. I went back and forth over this myself recently. I picked up a Larue 20 degree for $75.00 -
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-17-2013, 07:09 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Montana
Posts: 364
Re: Do I need a 20MOA base?

I would also recommend a 20 MOA scope base even though you will probably have enough elevation to get to 1K. I'd recommend one simply to keep the optics looking through as close to the center as possible, and a 20 MOA base isn't going to hurt your 100 yd zero unless something else is severely jacked up.

Geb
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Current Poll
Where in the US do you live?
West of the Mississippi River - 60.80%
895 Votes
East of the Mississippi River - 36.89%
543 Votes
On the Mississippi River on a houseboat - 2.31%
34 Votes
Total Votes: 1,472
You may not vote on this poll.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC