Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Long Range Scopes and Other Optics

Long Range Scopes and Other Optics Nightforce Optics


Reply

Dialing Scope in MOA

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #15  
Old 08-25-2009, 11:34 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 24
Re: Dialing Scope in MOA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikecr View Post
Kyle, to be frank, the factory gave you just what you were looking for in a scope. Right?
You bought into MilDots and assumed MOA, and only now try figuring out how to use any of it.
Next you'll wonder how MILs will work with your IPHY adjustments-used as MOA adjustments..
Hopefully next time you'll buy a scope with a simple crosshair and MOA adjustments, and will have played around with a ballistic program to see how easy this should be taken.

Monte, the 1/2" error 280FAN was referring to was total at 1Kyd, and not 1/2" at 100yds. He is right, it ain't much. Not even accounted for in sanctioned benchrest.
Also, when you refer to the stupid 54.4 clicks scenario, you would simply dial 54 clicks. Ballistic software math calculates/converts MOA, MILs, IPHY, and CLICKS just the same.
If you tell it to output clicks based on each being 1/8 IPHY, there would not be an issue as you could simply dial the solution. 54.7=55clicks dialed, 54.2 would= 54 clicks dialed..
Could it possibly get more accurate with 1/8" adjustments?

Foreign, you can't throw 100M into the mix as though the same as 100yds.
1 meter = 1.0936133 yards
Which brings up a fairly obvious reason scope makers should not dump in a mix of standards.
Actually, I got exactly what I was intending to get. I contacted the company they stated it is in 1/8 MOA and as for mil dots, I know exactly how they work and use them for hold over. As for knowing how to use them, that was never my question. I was unsure if the scope itself was in 1/8" click or 1/8 MOA since the turret did not differentiate. The scope dials as it should and the mil dots work wonderful for the hold overs. Thank you for your input.

Kyle
__________________
Romans 10:9

John 14:15
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08-25-2009, 12:25 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Falls Church, VA
Posts: 3,253
Re: Dialing Scope in MOA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikecr View Post
Monte, the 1/2" error 280FAN was referring to was total at 1Kyd, and not 1/2" at 100yds. He is right, it ain't much. Not even accounted for in sanctioned benchrest.
Thanks - you saved me from having to type that out.
__________________
I'm not gonna shoot here. I'm gonna shoot waaaaaaaay over there!
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-25-2009, 04:44 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: christchurch, nz
Posts: 370
Re: Dialing Scope in MOA

mikecr . sorry really ment to talk in yrds. ust i still do everything in meters so was an error on my part to type that.
cheers
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-25-2009, 08:56 PM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Wenatchee, WA
Posts: 804
Re: Dialing Scope in MOA

MikeCR & 280Fan,

If thats what you meant, then yes, you're correct. I apologize. Normally when people talk about the difference between MOA and IPHY and whether or not it matters, they give an example exactly as you did... and then can't figure out why their come-ups from 100yd to 1000yd are 'off' - which is why IMHO it matters, at least as far as finding out what a given scope really uses.

MikeCR,

I still think that counting clicks on a scope with micrometer scales graduated in MOA (or some semblance thereof) is a mis-use of the tool and prone to error in counting. Then again thats me and my experience - I start losing count after I run out of fingers and toes so counting revolutions and moa thereafter works better than clicks for me. I 'see' targets in terms of MOA - which conveniently enough corresponds to the numbers on my scope turrets . Maybe you look at a target and 'see' how many clicks you need to come over or up. Tomat-oh vs. tomat-ah, I guess
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads for: Dialing Scope in MOA
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dialing a 243 Win? budlight Long Range Hunting & Shooting 9 07-08-2011 10:22 PM
Scope dialing jimbothepunk The Basics, Starting Out 7 01-13-2011 02:23 AM
best scope for around a thousand ,for dialing diatance, timmyatnop Long Range Scopes and Other Optics 16 01-05-2011 10:05 PM
Dialing your kestrel in Shawn Carlock Long Range Hunting & Shooting 2 10-20-2008 08:06 PM
Scope -Dialing Up Elevation ? ol mike Long Range Scopes and Other Optics 17 06-08-2007 08:42 AM

Current Poll
Do you archery hunt for elk?
YES - 31.72%
59 Votes
NO - 52.69%
98 Votes
Not yet, but I plan to. - 15.59%
29 Votes
Total Votes: 186
You may not vote on this poll.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC