Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Long Range Scopes and Other Optics

Long Range Scopes and Other Optics Nightforce Optics


Reply

? about dialing a scope.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-09-2012, 02:32 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 12
? about dialing a scope.

Does your scope have to be set on a certain power for those of you that dial or use clicks on a target turrent type of scope, when using a scope with a SFP reticle?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-09-2012, 02:41 AM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 275
Re: ? about dialing a scope.

if your dialing the turrets it dont matter.

P.S. its when you use the MIL dot retical that you have to have it on the right power.;-}

like for my elcheapo barska it has to be on 10 power for it to be right. and it helps to make sure its right by putting a known sized target at a known range and mil it at your scopes said setting ;-}
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-09-2012, 08:21 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SOCIALIST CONTROLLED TERRITORY OF NEW YORK
Posts: 4,391
Re: ? about dialing a scope.

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisC View Post
Does your scope have to be set on a certain power for those of you that dial or use clicks on a target turrent type of scope, when using a scope with a SFP reticle?
YES in most case it needs to be on max power for your dialed values to match the adjustment values of the optic. The SFP optic is not the same size at 3x as it is at 10 thus if your correct at 3x and then dial 10x for your shot you have entered the wrong adjustment value, and you miss.
__________________
"People sleep peaceably in their beds at night only because rough men stand ready to do violence on their behalf"
If you want to shoot Bergers start here!
http://www.longrangehunting.com/arti...accuracy-1.php
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-09-2012, 09:29 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: SW Idaho
Posts: 1,151
Re: ? about dialing a scope.

As long as you are using the center crosshair it doesn't matter what power you are on.

If you have a ranging or BDC style reticle and you want to use something besides the center crosshairs then you have to have any SFP set to the correct power for the reticle to subtend (measure out) correctly.

Scot E.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-10-2012, 01:40 PM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Boise IDAHO
Posts: 838
Re: ? about dialing a scope.

NO, "Scoot E" and "submoa" got you covered............. It doesn't matter for a dead hold at center of cross hair aim. I only buy moa or mil dot reticles for a backup emergency range finder. I do not use my reticle for anything but measuring targets at a known distance. That is when the specific magnification matters. I dial right in for my shots so on 6x or 24x it makes no difference. That is why the "need" for a ffp is so overrated to me.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-11-2012, 10:32 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 12
Re: ? about dialing a scope.

Thanks a lot guys for your help.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads for: ? about dialing a scope.
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dialing a 243 Win? budlight Long Range Hunting & Shooting 9 07-08-2011 10:22 PM
Scope dialing jimbothepunk The Basics, Starting Out 7 01-13-2011 02:23 AM
best scope for around a thousand ,for dialing diatance, timmyatnop Long Range Scopes and Other Optics 16 01-05-2011 10:05 PM
Dialing Scope in MOA Kyle_freemason Long Range Scopes and Other Optics 17 08-25-2009 08:56 PM
Scope -Dialing Up Elevation ? ol mike Long Range Scopes and Other Optics 17 06-08-2007 08:42 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC