Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Long Range Scopes and Other Optics

Long Range Scopes and Other Optics Nightforce Optics

300 wsm or 7mm mag

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-14-2012, 02:27 AM
Bronze Member

Re: 300 wsm or 7mm mag

Time to take out the paddles and jump start this thread from the grave. Only my second post here on this forum. What brought me to this forum was every time I looked up long range shooting, posts on this website came up. So it makes sense to me to ask the experts. Maybe there are some new thoughts on this topic, maybe the availability of ammo, or maybe bigger magazines to accommodate larger grain bullets on the wsm? I am by no means an expert, so looking for those that are to give their insight.

Looks like based on what I've read that if I planned on shooting 500 or less then a 300 wsm would be a good rifle (elk, deer, bear?) And if I wanted to touch out farther then a 7mm rm would be the go to rifle. I can't really afford more then one, but I would like it to be able to cover at least the bases I'm interested in, deer, elk, bear, antelope, coyotes, possible moose, but thinking that moose will not be long range, 100-200 yards I'm sure. Versatility with bullet grains seem to weight better with the wsm as I don't know about blowing a hole through medium sized game.

Another question I have would be recoil, seems like a 300 wsm is between a 30-06 and a 300wm? Lets say you had 180grain bullet, in your opinion or those that have shot...which has more recoil, 7mm rem mag or 300wsm?

Any insight would be helpful! Thanks in advance. Looking to hopefully make this decision soon...tax money is my friend till it gets spent on other things, cause I wait too long to make my decision.
Old 02-14-2012, 03:37 AM
Silver Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brentster7189 View Post