Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Long Range Hunting & Shooting

Long Range Hunting & Shooting Nightforce Optics

will a 7mm work for me?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-29-2011, 10:24 PM
Silver Member

Re: will a 7mm work for me?

For sure!

I was just glad that shot placement had finally entered into the discussion
Old 10-29-2011, 11:10 PM
Silver Member

I have no experience with brown bears and will not relay anything I do not know from being present or an extremely reliable source.
My dad took a canadian moose with a 7STW @ over 600 yards with 160 grn accubonds.
A couple weeks ago he took a shiras moose (smaller cousin) at 50 yards with a 338 win mag and 210 grn accubond. The STW was a bang flop. The 338 took a second to realize he was dead. But he was just the same. We have killed black bear and elk with both rifles from 200 to 600+

Either is capable.if all goes as planned. Either can be lacking, if it does not. Get a repeater in the largest caliber you are comfortable with. Take only shots you are confident in. With elk, black bear, moose, all the truly big game we hunt, we Shoot Until They Stay Down.

Does Alaska not have a .30 cal and up rule for the big stuff?

The proper use of a Pistol is to fight your way back to where you left your Rifle.

The best gun to have? ... The one in your hand when the fight starts!

Respect All - Fear None
Old 10-30-2011, 02:49 AM
Silver Member

Initially, I wasn't going to engage this discussion because for the pure, simple fact that the only thing i've hunted are whitetails. While occasionally tenacious, they lack teeth, claws and at least 300lbs to be anywhere near what revvystroke asked about.

Also, as is always a primary consideration, not much replaces good shot placement - at least until we get into 20mm and larger

Further, excellent bullet choice must also be a primary consideration as well as enough HP to get the job done.