Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Long Range Hunting & Shooting

Long Range Hunting & Shooting Nightforce Optics

what should I buy.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-02-2004, 07:38 PM

what should I buy.

I have been a police officer for several years and served in the military including a recent tour in Iraq. I am looking to buy a weapon and am leaning towards a 7MM rem mag. I have several friends (fellow police officers, some on the ERT) and they are stuck on a .308. I also have a friend who is a former USMC scout sniper (he is also a police officer now) who says that the 7mm has a flatter tajectory and will be more accurate at long range over the .308. Now the ERT guys say that the 7mm cant compare to the .308 and that my friend doesnt know what he is talking about. I know ERT only has to qulify at 100 yards and the farthest the have ever shot the .308 in trainning is 600 yards at hearsal davis (comand master chief us navy seals) training facility in Illinois. so what is it the .308 or the 7mm rem mag. I would like to shoot anywhere from 500 to 1000 yards and be able to take it elk hunting someday. Is this posible with this round (I know that I succesfully engaged targets up to 600 meters with my M249 in the desert, and it was only a 5.56 calibur machine .Personaly I thought the .308 was to small for something like elk but that is why I am asking for advice. Also I met a guy who said he used to shoot his 7mm at 1000 yards and hit his targets accurately, and that it is a powerfull enough round to kill anything that walks? If it is to be the 7mm who makes one for a left handed shooter with the heavy barrel, I saw one at a sporting store(I think it was the short case ultra mag for a righty though)is this gun capuble of what I want or do I need to get some thing custom.
Old 08-02-2004, 07:58 PM
Silver Member

Re: what should I buy.