Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Long Range Hunting & Shooting

Long Range Hunting & Shooting Nightforce Optics

What is the problem??? (reloading Q)

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-25-2010, 08:58 PM
Silver Member

What is the problem??? (reloading Q)

This is my first attempt at reloading, I have all brand new equipment, and am trying to reload for my 270 WSM.

Right away I am having problems...

RCBS Rock Chucker
#43 shell holder
Redding full length die

When I resize I am getting dents on the shoulder which from everything I'm reading means too much lube.

I have cleaned the inside of the die, and I am trying to put even less lube on the case then I was initially. I put a tiny drop on my finger tip, rub my fingers together then rub the case, basically just enough to make it shiny.

This has helped but I am still getting small dents on the shoulder unless I move the ram up and down about 1/4 of the way at a time.

The makes me think there is something else going on aside from the hydraulic denting:
Using the hornady lock 'n load comparator it looks the shoulder is being pushed back .010 instead of the .001-.002 I would like to see. I set the die so it is touching the shell holder, and turned it down approx 1/8 turn, there is just a VERY small springy feeling at the end of the stroke, it is probably less than 1/8 of a turn.

I really don't want dented cases, nor do I want to set the shoulder back that far. Any ideas???
Old 06-25-2010, 09:45 PM
Platinum Member

Re: What is the problem??? (reloading Q)