Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Long Range Hunting & Shooting

Long Range Hunting & Shooting Nightforce Optics

Time for the next step. The scope?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-23-2011, 05:42 PM
Silver Member

Time for the next step. The scope?

Hey fellas, 25-06 project is in the shop getting it's make over. This is my very first attempt at long range equipment and shooting. I have considered it for a long time but, am only now making the move.
I figure my next purchase is a scope. I really like the idea of BDC turrets with the exception of change in P.O.I. when change in temp and elevation.
The other option is a ballistic calculator. Thats great as I could run diffrent loads. The bad part is the time involved in setting up for a shot.
I am considering the vortex scope and turrets set up by gunwerks. Any advice yal can give me will be greatly appreciated. Thank's, Brad
Old 03-23-2011, 06:41 PM
Platinum Member

Re: Time for the next step. The scope?

[QUOTEThe bad part is the time involved in setting up for a shot. ][/QUOTE]

It is a problem and only you can decide. I wiill give you an example which is fairly common.

I was deer hunting this Fall and had a buck in easy range. But I wanted a video of it so I got the camera on the buck and running. Then I got behind the rile but by that time the buck was gone. So how do I feel? Do I regret not killing one more animal because it walked off while I was goofing around or am I OK with the fact that I could have made an easy shot on one more deer but didn't.
Old 03-23-2011, 07:19 PM
Silver Member

Thank's for the come back. I'm wondering if one is more accurte than the other. How do correct a BDC turret for altitude , temp etc...? The turret may be built in Cody Wy. in summer but I am shooting it in Oklahoma in winter. How does that work? Brad
Old 03-23-2011, 08:03 PM