Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Long Range Hunting & Shooting

Long Range Hunting & Shooting Nightforce Optics

Thinking about adding a long range rifle to the collection and I need caliber advice

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-18-2013, 01:31 PM
Bronze Member

Thinking about adding a long range rifle to the collection and I need caliber advice

My gun collection is currently: .22lr bolt, 5.56 ar, .223 stevens, 30-06 remmy, .50 muzzleloader, and a coulple shotguns. This collection basically covers anything that I could hunt in North America, so I would say that I have the base gun collection complete. Now I want to begin adding specific calibers for specific purposes.

I am a novice when it comes to long range shooting, basically. I want to get a gun that is fairly economic to shoot since I will be using factory ammo for a little while until I get all my reloading supplies. I want the gun to be a good "training" gun, that I can still use for medium-long range hunting if I get the urge. Something that will not kill the shoulder because I want my lady to be able to shoot it as well.

I was thinking like a .260 maybe? What do you guys think?

Thanks ahead of time!

EDIT: I plan on getting a rem 700 that has a B&C stock with the heavy varmint barrel. I will bed the action and attempt to accurize it as much as I can, for a beginner rifle.
Old 09-18-2013, 01:52 PM
Silver Member

Re: Thinking about adding a long range rifle to the collection and I need caliber adv

I think you are on the right track and have picked a super caliber...the 260 is a great round.