Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Long Range Hunting & Shooting

Long Range Hunting & Shooting Nightforce Optics

Starting point

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-25-2011, 07:03 PM

Starting point

Hello to everyone. I am new to the sport of long range hunting and I have many of the same questions as alot of new guys, is my rig a good starting point? I have a Rem 700 XCR in .338 WM topped with a basic Leupold VX3.
I know I am looking at upgrading the scope in the future but I wanted some thoughts on if the rifle itself is a good starting point for let's say 800+ yrds? That is my goal. If it is what would be the right first steps in accurizing? Possibly muzzle brake, recoil pad.. Thanks in advance.
Old 08-25-2011, 07:25 PM
Platinum Member

Re: Starting point

You are on the right track.
Old 08-25-2011, 07:52 PM

With that being said. What muzzle brake would you recommend?
Old 08-25-2011, 08:22 PM
Platinum Member

You can use one of the muscle breaks that are sold on this site. Kirby Allen's APS break works very well on my cousin's 338 Lapua. Shawn Carlock makes some very nice breaks. For the money I would suggest the muscle break.

Tank
Matthew 7:13-14
"Enter through the narrow gate. For wide is the gate and broad is the road that leads to destruction, and many enter through it. [14] But small is the gate and narrow the road that leads to life, and only a few find it.

If you find your self in a fair fight, your tactics suck!- Marine 1st Sergeant Jim Ryfinger

Friends don't let friends develop canonitis!-chucknbach

arguing over the internet is like the special Olympics....even if you win, you are still...special!
Old 08-25-2011, 08:40 PM

Thats the one I am leaning towards. I plan on giving them a call Monday or so. Hopefully it will calm the recoil some.
Old 08-25-2011, 09:07 PM
Platinum Member