Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Long Range Hunting & Shooting

Long Range Hunting & Shooting Nightforce Optics

spin drift & Coriolis effect

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-29-2011, 07:21 PM
Silver Member

Re: spin drift & Coriolis effect

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bravo 4 View Post
At least a couple times a year we shoot our .50's out to a little over 1600 meters, the same mile as your 1760 yards. As a matter of fact that's what we have scheduled this weekend.
When talking about the effects on REALLY long range shooting I believe that I have some pretty knowledgeable resources on the subject. I not only asked our Mortar Platoon SGT (a 20 year 11C), but also five 11C instructors(all MLOC grads, with close to 100 years combined experience).They all said the same thing, you cannot accurately account for Coriolis without a Mortar Ballistic Computer and input the gun's coordinates, the target's coordinates and factor in the bearing from gun to target. You cannot just say it will always land to the right. And these guys shoot out to 7200 meters. I also have a few buddies that are instructors at the Sniper School and they will say the same thing I was told going through the school, you cannot just range a target and put a number on it...you can't just favor/adjust right and call it good.
Now then, the one common factor these guys have in common is they are all Army trained. That could be the down fall of my/their experience...but I doubt it. It if was that easy I bet we would be using it.
As for the 3" right spin drift and 3" right of Coriolis at 1000 yards. I would be willing to say that it's really 6" of spin drift. Looking at the data book for our .50's shooting the MK211 rounds, it shows a .5 MOA of spin drift @ 1000 (also what I use for my .338 Edge). For our M24's most guys I know use .75-1 MOA.