Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Long Range Hunting & Shooting

Long Range Hunting & Shooting Nightforce Optics

Sierra Match King Vs Game

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-17-2008, 01:35 PM
Silver Member

Sierra Match King Vs Game

Hi guys,

I am new to this forum, but have been hunting for over 17 years. I have been reloading now for a couple years for most of my rifles. I recently decide to try a 150gr. Sierra Match King for my Rem 700 7mm Rem Mag. The accuracy is incredable. My friend who intruduced me to this forum filled me in on the pros and cons concerning the match king bullet when used for hunting. I would like to fill you all in with my experience.

So far I have killed 3 Bucks, Two Coyotes, One Javelina. My sister shot a buck with my rifle as well. All the shots were about 110 yards or so, exept the coyote at 260 yards and the javelina at about 200 yards. All the animals had an enterance and exit wound, with the exit wound fairly large. The bullet blew out a chunk of lung from the buck I shot yesterday and the exit on the coyote did the same. Bottom line I am impressed with the results I have had so far. I am curious if some one else has hand loaded the SMK in 7mm Rem Mag and any experience using them, because I plan on starting to shoot Long Range with this combination.

Thanks- Jay
Old 12-17-2008, 03:16 PM
Silver Member

Re: Sierra Match King Vs Game

Jay,

I have shot several elk and deer using a 168 smk from a 7mm rem mag and from distances of 25-300+ yards and have good luck in general from this combo. I noticed some rather large exit wounds on a few of the critters, but had good expansion etc....hope this helps the only thing I ever shot at a real long range was a coyote at 650 and they worked real well on him!