Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Long Range Hunting & Shooting

Long Range Hunting & Shooting Nightforce Optics

Scope Rings and Bases Question?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-03-2010, 01:03 PM

Scope Rings and Bases Question?

Hi everyone Im new to LRH and I've been lurking around here for a while and decided to join because I have a few questions to ask.

I recently bought a Browning X Bolt and I havent decided which scope rings and bases combo I should get. Is the weaver style better then the dovetail or vice versa. I wont be shooting to far 500-600 yards max. Being that the x bolt has 4 screws per base I seem to be limited to scope bases.

Also did I put this in the right category.

Thanks
Old 03-03-2010, 01:07 PM
Gold Member

Re: Scope Rings and Bases Question?

The dovetail has served shooters well for decades. With that said, I've gone to Pic/Weaver bases. In my mind, correctly or not, there's less chance of misalignment between the rings.

Probably should have put it here, but a mod can move it if they deem it necessary.

Long Range Scopes and Other Optics - LongRangeHunting.com Online Magazine and Forums
Old 03-09-2010, 01:37 PM

looking for some more info.

thanks
Old 03-09-2010, 04:32 PM
Silver Member

Does the A bolt have the same configuration as the X bolt? If so you could try this.

EGW Browning A-Bolt Tactical Picatinny Scope Base - $39.99 : Evolution Gun Works , World Class Precision Parts

A few guys on this site like them. I have one, and it works well. Once you find a base you like, rings will be easy. I like Burris XTR's, but a lot of people like the Burris Z rings for thier extra MOA's.
Old 03-09-2010, 04:42 PM
Silver Member

I see you can't use the A bolt base, sorry. I'd call or Email EGW, and see what they can do. Here are a couple of options.
X-Lock Integrated Scope Mounts(X-Bolt), x-bolt rifle rings bases, Browning Shooting Accessory Product