Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Long Range Hunting & Shooting

Long Range Hunting & Shooting Nightforce Optics


Reply

Savage LRH not free floated

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-06-2011, 10:07 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 114
Savage LRH not free floated

Hey all. I recieved my savage LRH in 300 win mag. The fore end of the stock was not free floated. Only the first half inch or so. So i sent that stock back to savage and they sent me another one. Installed it and the same thing. I know when speaking to the lady she said this was the "new accustock". Should i just sand down the fore end of the stock so it is free floated or should I send it in and let them mess with it?? Has anyone else had this issue with savage and their accustock?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-06-2011, 10:15 PM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 693
Re: Savage LRH not free floated

I've seen stories about LRH, do search on Savageshooters website, or just get B&C stock with aluminum bedding block. Personally I would bedded to get free-float, I did it on SPS stock where barrel not supposed to be free-floated.

Last edited by Jinx-); 07-06-2011 at 10:18 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-07-2011, 12:30 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Halfway between Lubbock and Dallas
Posts: 5,149
Re: Savage LRH not free floated

Quote:
Originally Posted by teampete View Post
Hey all. I recieved my savage LRH in 300 win mag. The fore end of the stock was not free floated. Only the first half inch or so. So i sent that stock back to savage and they sent me another one. Installed it and the same thing. I know when speaking to the lady she said this was the "new accustock". Should i just sand down the fore end of the stock so it is free floated or should I send it in and let them mess with it?? Has anyone else had this issue with savage and their accustock?
Savage should fix this for you. However considering the turn around time you might be better off just having a local gunsmith take care of it for you.

My question though would be as to wether or not the stock itself is warped. If it is it might take a considerable amount of work to free float the barrel and you'll end up in the end with a warped stock.

You paid a premium to get that stock, and they should make it right. If you have a gunsmith work on it instead of sending it back you could lose any warranty that applies to the stock.

Call Savage.
__________________
Without the First and Second Amendments the rest of The Constitution is Meaningless.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-07-2011, 02:35 AM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 693
Re: Savage LRH not free floated

I got their LRPV, it supposed to have HS Precision stock, when I opened box it had laminate which doesn't have aluminum bedding block. This stock using pillars, but those pillars to short so action had no contact with them. This makes me think, what happen to quality control...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-07-2011, 07:45 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Northeast
Posts: 2,431
Re: Savage LRH not free floated

I just got one in 6.5x284 and had the same thing. it is simple to fix it with a dowel wrapped with sandpaper in about 5 minutes. There is a very small contact area at the end of the stock. I quickly got over this oversight on the part of Savage when I saw how accurate this rifle is!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-07-2011, 09:39 AM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 114
Re: Savage LRH not free floated

Greyfox, do you have one of the new accustocks?? The ones without the wedge?? When did you get your gun? Also did u torque the action screws to a certain number with a torque wrench??
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-07-2011, 09:53 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Northeast
Posts: 2,431
Re: Savage LRH not free floated

Quote:
Originally Posted by teampete View Post
Greyfox, do you have one of the new accustocks?? The ones without the wedge?? When did you get your gun? Also did u torque the action screws to a certain number with a torque wrench??
teampete,

Yes, my LRH is a current model with the Accustock, however, Savage makes the Accustock in two forms, one without the wedge, one with. The LRH's do not have a wedge, just a fairly lug recess. The rest of the accustock is the same. I did use a torque wrench to tighten the bedding screws making sure that the lug made contact in the recess per the instructions. I used 45 pounds of torque.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads for: Savage LRH not free floated
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Free Hog Hunting or Free Lodging Coy Franks Hog Hunting 40 12-07-2013 08:12 PM
Savage Accuracy, disappointed, free floated barrel kudu Long Range Hunting & Shooting 21 03-28-2012 03:26 AM
floated barrel groups skandlus Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics 9 10-19-2010 12:29 PM
Free to a good home: Savage and Cooper Bases nad1967 Trade, Freebie and Loan 1 12-06-2009 04:20 PM
30" fully floated barrel on Rem 700 LA ok? jmden Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics 6 10-04-2005 11:18 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC