Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Long Range Hunting & Shooting

Long Range Hunting & Shooting Nightforce Optics

Savage Accuracy, disappointed, free floated barrel

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-15-2011, 02:21 PM

Savage Accuracy, disappointed, free floated barrel

I'm new to long range shooting but I am in the process of getting hooked. After lurking here for a while and reading the great things about Savage rifles I figured I would do what was suggested- buy a savage and then if it doesn't shoot replace the barrel and then I should have a long range gun. (beginning to think I should have forked out the big bucks and done it right the first time but I didn't want to wait 4-6 months or spend 4k for a new . Anyway I purchased a Savage LRH 7mm RM, it has the Accustock. I was hoping for MOA or better. Placed a Leupold VX III 4-14 on it. Broke in the barrel cleaning after every shot for 10 shots, then after every 3rd shot for 30 shots. I've shot groups with 168 bergers, 180 bergers, 2 different factory loads- the best three shot group I can manage is 1 7/8". Last evening after a frustrating day at the range I noticed that the barrel is not free floating. It is snugged up tight at the foreend on the left side of the barrel.
My first impression is to take the dremmel tool to it and fix it but I figured I'd ask your opinions before I did anything too rash.
Old 05-15-2011, 02:57 PM
Silver Member

Re: Savage Accuracy, disappointed, free floated barrel

It may be a good idea to just take the action out of the stock and re-install.
That can make a big difference if it was done improperly at the factory for some reason.

You may want to try a different bullet as well, I can barely get 3 MOA with bergers in my savage, but get 1/2 MOA with accubonds. But... bergers shoot just fine in another one of my savages.

Here is some info on how to properly put the action in an accustock.
Old 05-15-2011, 03:03 PM