Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Long Range Hunting & Shooting

Long Range Hunting & Shooting Nightforce Optics

Savage 6.5 X 284 Long Range Hunter

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-11-2010, 07:35 AM
Platinum Member

Re: Savage 6.5 X 284 Long Range Hunter

Quote:
Originally Posted by NHGriff View Post
Thanks Tank...what I meant was I was searching this forum for info on this caliber and specifically this rifle in this caliber. I rarely get results when using the search function by caliber. It says no results but maybe there are too many results?

I'm looking at bases right now and wondering if anyone is using a one piece base. Do most use two piece bases? Should I get a 20 moa set? I'm kind of new to LRH and shooting so any help is appreciated.

Jim
The most extensive info I have found is 2 sources. The first is a Shooting Times Magazine. They did a review on the exact rifle you own and different ammo. Look for the Dec 09/Jan 2010 issue. If you can find it, it should give you some insight to your rifle. For the caliber alone, go to: 6.5-284 Cartridge Guide

For a base, I wouldn't think a 20MOA would be necessary for the speed the cartridge carries, but shouldn't hurt anything. More clicks in the scope isn't necessarily a bad thing. Maybe check out rings instead. What I mean by this is that Burris makes a ring that you can use inserts for MOA adjustments verses being stuck with a solid base. One piece base is all I use.

The Burris Signature Z rings allow you to purchase inserts in increments of 10MOA. This keeps from having to purchase a solid base or try to shim which can cause binding in the scope. I use these rings plus a 20MOA base on my LR rig (300WSM w/ heavy bullets and low velocity). It allows me to keep my scope at its lowest click count to give me more vertical adjustment.

Here is what I use: