Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Long Range Hunting & Shooting

Long Range Hunting & Shooting Nightforce Optics

Savage 308 troubles

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-07-2010, 07:20 PM
Bronze Member

Savage 308 troubles

I don't post much on here, but I do a lot of reading. I have a problem, and would like to get some opinions.

About a year and a half ago I purchased a Savage Model 11 in 308. It was one of the package deals at Cabelas that included a Pine Ridge scope. While in the store, I purchased a Nikon Buckmasters scope and had them mount it. My plan was to use this gun for deer hunting, replacing the Remington Model 788 243 I have been using for 20 years.

When I sighted the gun in, it seemed my groups were all over the place. I couldn't seem to get it right. I don't consider myself a great shot, especially not for long range at this point, but I have never had a problem hitting targets and deer out to 200 yds with my 243.

My first thought was a defective scope. I did some research on the Nikon and found a couple of people that had similar problems, but most of the reviews were great. I had a cheap BSA scope laying around, so I put it on the gun, and had similar results, and put the gun in the cabinet.

Yesterday, I decided to spend some time shooting and trying to resolve this issue. I still had the BSA on there, and I still had the same results. I put the Nikon back on, same results. I would say it has about a 10" group at 200 yds, using a bipod and sandbag in the rear. After giving up on the 308, I shot the 243 and it did great. I also had a buddy shoot the 308, with the same result.

One thing I did not do is go through a barrel break in procedure. I have always heard mixed opinions on this, and now I'm starting to regret that decision.