Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Long Range Hunting & Shooting

Long Range Hunting & Shooting Nightforce Optics

Ruger M77, 7mm Ultra mag vs. Rem. 700, .308 value vs. quality

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-13-2010, 06:05 PM

Ruger M77, 7mm Ultra mag vs. Rem. 700, .308 value vs. quality

Newbie here... time & xtra money being in short supply lately, i've decided to sell my new/unfired (door prize raffle) Ruger M77,Mark II in 7mm Rem ultra mag, has a nice deluxe walnut checkered stock,rubber buttpad & new unopened pack of Ruger scope mnts too.
Basically this caliber is pricey to just target shoot & way overpowered for the upstate NY whitetails i hunt, so it's been sitting in case for 8 months.
Here's my dilemma... i was asking $695. which i feel is a reasonably fair amount for this longarm, but now a fella offered to trade his new Remington model 700 SPS-DM in .308 cal which is also new/unfired condition. I'm unable to find comparable values for his gun but have read they sell used for $400 - $500 at online auction sites.
Here's my questions to you proverbial vetrans of the 'long range' -
1. Would this be a fair trade, value-wise ?
2. Is .308 cal a bit much for whitetail hunting ?
3. Am i crazy for considering ????
Thanks for u'r unadulterated comments....fire away !!

-Wacked & Jobless in the northernwoods-
Old 11-13-2010, 06:31 PM
Platinum Member

Re: Ruger M77, 7mm Ultra mag vs. Rem. 700, .308 value vs. quality

Quote:
Originally Posted by WackJob View Post
Newbie here... time & xtra money being in short supply lately, i've decided to sell my new/unfired (door prize raffle) Ruger M77,Mark II in 7mm Rem ultra mag, has a nice deluxe walnut checkered stock,rubber buttpad & new unopened pack of Ruger scope mnts too.
Basically this caliber is pricey to just target shoot & way overpowered for the upstate NY whitetails i hunt, so it's been sitting in case for 8 months.