Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Long Range Hunting & Shooting

Long Range Hunting & Shooting Nightforce Optics

Remington "factory blemish" rifles

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-02-2011, 10:10 PM

Remington "factory blemish" rifles

First of all, thanks for all the good info on here guys. I've been lurking for a while now, learning what I can, and trying to decide if I want to jump into the long-range game with a "big" gun. I've been shooting groundhogs for a few years and got serious about it in the last 3 or 4 years. I'm looking to buy an elk rifle and hopefully use the same one for some longer range deer hunting here in PA. I got bit by the bug big time this year when I took a whitetail doe at a lasered distance of 900 yds using my father-in-law's .30 Hart. Bad idea for me.

Anyone ever heard of a Remington factory blemish rifle for sale? I've found a place to purchase an unfired Model 700 XCR long range tactical for under $800. The ad states that they are factory blemishes, either marks on the stock or metalwork.

My questions are: Ever heard of Big Green doing this? this is an online purchase, and I won't be able to see the rifle until after its shipped? go ahead and hope for the best, or pass? I like the savings and if its too bad, i would likely get the gun coated to clean it up (if its a shooter, that is).

Any/all thoughts would be appreciated, either on price, or on the model itself. I have a Remmy 700 VSSF II in .22-250 and its a one-holer, so I'm good with the quality of that gun, and may be leaning towards a Sendero either in 300WM or 300 RUM.

Pete
Old 02-02-2011, 10:44 PM
Silver Member

Re: Remington "factory blemish" rifles

Never heard of this, sounds like a good price as long as nothing is mechanically wrong. Does it come with any kind of warranty?
Old 02-03-2011, 07:54 AM