Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Long Range Hunting & Shooting

Long Range Hunting & Shooting Nightforce Optics


Reply

possible scope zero issue

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-28-2013, 07:58 AM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 546
possible scope zero issue

All,
I am trying to determine if my scope is not holding zero. I do not have another scope to throw on to verify. My friend said the gun shop down the road can put a bore sight on it and then tap the scope with a rubber hammer to see if the reticle moves. I am wondering what your opinion on this method is? Anything else I can do? Unfortunately I am also looking for a load that shoots well in my gun so I do not have a load that I can shoot and say "well it shot this load well before and now it doesnt...it must be the scope"
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-28-2013, 12:58 PM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 546
Re: possible scope zero issue

I know this may be a stupid thread but is there any advice from anyone on this? I am kind of strapped for cash at the moment and in a rush to find a good shooting load for the up coming hunting season. I want to make sure that the scope is not the culprit. So far I have tried two different federal premium loads both 150 grains, winchester super x 180 grain and 150grain, remington corelocs 150 grain, and federal fusions. The best I have got is 1.5 MOA at 100 yards with the federal ballistic tips 150 grainers. The remington corelocs were about the same.

Before I go blowing through other ammo and money I just want to make sure everything else is functioning properly.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-28-2013, 01:11 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 5,892
Re: possible scope zero issue

Check your cold bore shot, and sight the rifle in for your first cold-bore shot. Shoot a cold bore shot, let it cool down. Then shoot another one, adjust scope more. Then let it sit and cool down. Then adjust scope more, and repeat this process till you get the rifle zero'd on a cold bore shot.

If you are able to get the rifle to zero consistantly on your first COLD BORE shot, let it cool down. Then shoot a 3-shot group. If your first shot hits bullseye again, and shots 2 & 3 don't....Then it's most likely a shot-out barrel or an ammo problem, and not a scope problem.

This is what I did with my new (to me) .338 WinMag. It would continually shoot a perfectly zero'd cold-bore 1st shot. But when I tried to shoot a 3-shot group, shots 2 & 3 would be all over the place. Which just gave me a new excuse to snatch the barrel off and rebarrel it.

Also, check all your scope mounting screws on your rings and base(s).
__________________
"I'm just a peckerwood who lives in the hills with too many guns..." - Bob Lee Swagger

"Give me a minute...I'm good. Give me an hour...I'm great. Give me 6 months...And I'm unbeatable." - Col. Hannibal Smith

Ignore everything I say, because I have a reading comprehension and memory problem...

Quote:
Originally Posted by WildRose View Post
The 284 is to the STW what a tricycle is to a Ninja.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-28-2013, 01:44 PM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 546
Re: possible scope zero issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by MudRunner2005 View Post
Check your cold bore shot, and sight the rifle in for your first cold-bore shot. Shoot a cold bore shot, let it cool down. Then shoot another one, adjust scope more. Then let it sit and cool down. Then adjust scope more, and repeat this process till you get the rifle zero'd on a cold bore shot.

If you are able to get the rifle to zero consistantly on your first COLD BORE shot, let it cool down. Then shoot a 3-shot group. If your first shot hits bullseye again, and shots 2 & 3 don't....Then it's most likely a shot-out barrel or an ammo problem, and not a scope problem.

This is what I did with my new (to me) .338 WinMag. It would continually shoot a perfectly zero'd cold-bore 1st shot. But when I tried to shoot a 3-shot group, shots 2 & 3 would be all over the place. Which just gave me a new excuse to snatch the barrel off and rebarrel it.

Also, check all your scope mounting screws on your rings and base(s).
GEESH I hope its not shot out as it was a brand new rifle last year. It has id say 75-100 rounds through it now. scope mounts are nice and tight.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-28-2013, 01:58 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 5,892
Re: possible scope zero issue

Are you shooting the same bullets as last year?

If you are, and everyting else is the exact same, and it is still causing issues, then it is most likely the scope.
__________________
"I'm just a peckerwood who lives in the hills with too many guns..." - Bob Lee Swagger

"Give me a minute...I'm good. Give me an hour...I'm great. Give me 6 months...And I'm unbeatable." - Col. Hannibal Smith

Ignore everything I say, because I have a reading comprehension and memory problem...

Quote:
Originally Posted by WildRose View Post
The 284 is to the STW what a tricycle is to a Ninja.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-28-2013, 02:42 PM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 546
Re: possible scope zero issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by MudRunner2005 View Post
Are you shooting the same bullets as last year?

If you are, and everyting else is the exact same, and it is still causing issues, then it is most likely the scope.
Unfortunately I live in NEW YORK and the ammo I used last year (federal fusion) has been out at all the local dealers. I am looking into ordering them from Cabelas but still have some other ammo to try as well. Last year I bought the gun literally the week before the gun opener for deer season so I only had that week and 2 types of ammo to try...federal fusions and winchester Super x. The super x's were all over the place and the fusions shot 1MOA at best so I went with them for the season. I was hoping to try some more ammo to try and get better groups AND was looking forward to the new scope I just bought for this season. Burris fullfield II 4.5-14x42. It doesnt have the BEST optics but it seems as good as my elite 3200 with some more zoom(it was a 3-9x40) I got rid of the elite3200 by the way. I dont have the fusions to compare to at the moment because NEW YORK sucks! lol
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-28-2013, 05:22 PM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Wolfesville, MD
Posts: 824
Re: possible scope zero issue

Try shooting a box, shoot one shot, then click up 1" shoot, click right 1" and shoot click down 1" and shoot, then click left 1" and should be in the same spot, if not close then it's the scope
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC