Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Long Range Hunting & Shooting

Long Range Hunting & Shooting Nightforce Optics

Pics of Berger Bullets NOT Performing????

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-06-2012, 01:47 PM
Platinum Member

Re: Pics of Berger Bullets NOT Performing????

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmden View Post
What about the rounds in a magazine that get the bullet tips slightly flattened after the the first shot in the field is taken due to recoil? I hadn't thought too much about this before (and, once this happens, I usually keep the same rounds down in the mag and load a fresh round in the chamber for the duration of the season), but I wonder if this could contribute to a lack of expansion? Anyone have any experience here?
This is a valid point for consideration. And also the reason I have no experiences to report. Because I'm one of the guys that empties the magazine prior to long range encounters in order to prevent any bullet tip damage to the rounds in the magazine during rifle recoil - regardless of the brand of bullet I've loaded into the magazine.
The only time the rounds in my magazines will ride out rifle recoil is if I surprise myself, and the game (or predator - bear yikes!) animal in a close range encounter, and open fire in that scenario.
Old 12-06-2012, 02:09 PM
Silver Member

Well here is my response to a few questions that were being asked:
I asked Broz if he recieved bullets, because i think he did a great job on publishing photos and info. ect. on a hunting bullet that was used in a hunting situation! Everyone appreciates the feedback that is done in the field rather than just on paper! I too, test alot of bullets and calibers at different ranges on different species of animals! Its interesting to see the results.

7mm Mag Load
Winchester Case
Federal Large Rifle Magnum Match Primer
70.0 grains of Hodgon Retumbo
180 gr. Berger Hunting VLD