Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Long Range Hunting & Shooting

Long Range Hunting & Shooting Nightforce Optics

Pics of Berger Bullets NOT Performing????

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-18-2013, 05:04 PM
Silver Member

Re: Pics of Berger Bullets NOT Performing????

Wow, I didn't see this thread until today. Interesting read through and through.

Dad and I just started shooting the Berger, I think 168 gr. hunting VLD, in our 30-06 of use out to 400 yards. We had an interesting result already. Dad shot a muley at 75 yards this year, and I watched the bullet hit and figured the deer was dead, high lung shot. It ran over the hill, and we walked to the edge of the hill expecting to find it dead. To our surprise it was walking up the hill on the other side about 150 yards away. Dad shot again and missed. The deer got away from us, but was obviously hurt. I caught up to it about a half mile away bedded down. I shot it and killed it there. No blood trail leading to the deer, but it is very open country around here so it wasn't too tough to find. Sure enough, dad's bullet hit a little high, but when I was gutting the deer out it had pierced both lungs. There was a 30 caliber hole in and out. We couldn't explain the results. After reading this I will be interested to see how Eric's test results turn out, and I will go through and check each bullet with a staple before loading to be on the safe side until then. The Berger's are shooting well out of both my 7mmRM and 30-06, so I definitely plan to keep using them in both. Glad that Eric is standing behind his products and trying to find a reason.

Joe
Old 01-18-2013, 10:10 PM