Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Long Range Hunting & Shooting

Long Range Hunting & Shooting Nightforce Optics

Opinions please on adding weight to my 338

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-16-2012, 07:06 PM

Opinions please on adding weight to my 338

Hi everyone,

I'm not a prolific poster, but I thot I'd share this as the administrator wants me to post something. I mostly shoot a 25-06 Rem in a Tikka and recently bought a Tikka Tactical in 204 Ruger.

I was at the range a few days ago. I took my Sako which is chambered in 338 Imperial Magnum cuz I haven't shot it for quite a while. I'd forgotten what a vicious kick it's got. For those that don't know what this is, it's comparable to a 338 RUM. 88 grains of IMR 4831 pushes a 250 gr at about 2900 FPS. The way I make brass for it is to neck resize 375 RUM brass which has identical specs except for the neck diameter.

I've got a muzzle brake for it, but I don't like using the brake cuz I don't like hunting with it on. I shot it once without ear protection while hunting, and I could hear the ringing for about 48 hrs after that. I then took the brake off at the range, but it impacts totally different with and without the brake. I use a strap-on shoulder pad and the stock has a nice recoil pad on it. But it's a composite stock, really light, and I think it would make a big difference if I put some weight in it.

So for those of you that have used these large-brass 338's more than I have, what would be your preferred way to add weight to this thing? In it's present form, it's really quite light - my 25-06 with a wood stock is noticeably heavier - I'm guessing the Sako weighs around 8 lbs. How much weight should I add? What kind of a difference can I expect?

Thanks in advance for your collective advice. Art
Old 08-16-2012, 07:40 PM
Platinum Member

Re: Opinions please on adding weight to my 338