Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Long Range Hunting & Shooting

Long Range Hunting & Shooting Nightforce Optics

Nosler E-TIP extended range accuracy

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-05-2013, 02:04 PM
Platinum Member

Re: Nosler E-TIP extended range accuracy

I have shot Nosler BT/ ET bullets for many years. Clear back to 1998. I say that because I went to Alaska and hunting caribou with my 3006 and 165 ET.

I used 180 AB BT Nolser in my 3006 now and at 500 yards, the max range I sent this rifle up for I had 1 MOA 5 shot groups. At 100 it shoots .38 3 shot groups. I have no experience with it at longer range. I set up 6.5-284 for LR hunting, primarily wolf.

Anyway, I have shot the Noslers in 165-180 grain in the 30 cal. and I used them exclusively in my 220 in 55 gr. I realize that is not a LR caliber but for varmints that rifle was deadly to 500 on priarie dogs and yotes.

Personally I really like Nosler as I had great luck with the bullets. My 6.5 shoots 140 Berger VLDs due to the higher BC in the 6.5 line up.
Old 08-06-2013, 10:09 PM
Bronze Member

I have shot the Etips out of a 7 wsm they were very accurate. I personally have not shot a animal with them my shooting partner has and loves them. I think the min velocity on them is 1800fps or 2000fps cant remember for sure but its something to look into if u r going to shoot long range animals.
Old 08-06-2013, 10:56 PM
Platinum Member

They advertise down to 1800 fps. I would probably go a little higher myself.

E-Tip — Nosler

You will never know how much it has cost my generation to preserve your freedom. I hope you make good use of it.
~ John Quincy Adams
Old 08-07-2013, 03:24 AM

Anybody tried the 150gr out of their .308's?

How was the performance on game?

Thanks
Old 08-07-2013, 07:26 AM
Silver Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marlinproud View Post
Anybody tried the 150gr out of their .308's?

How was the performance on game?

Thanks