Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Long Range Hunting & Shooting

Long Range Hunting & Shooting Nightforce Optics

New Vortex HD tactical scope or a Leupold Mark 4 LRT?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-26-2013, 02:47 PM
Platinum Member

Re: New Vortex HD tactical scope or a Leupold Mark 4 LRT?

Quote:
Originally Posted by muleywannabe View Post
are they easy to use? I am really new at this long range stuff.
Easy as pie, if you get the MOAR reticle. Yardage judging is simple with the MOAR reticle....If you know about how tall an object is in inches, look at it through your scope and see how many mil-hashes it fits inbetween in height. Divide your items known height (inches), by the number of hash marks it fits inbetween, then multiply by 100, and you have your approximate yardage to dial up.

For example, say the vertical width of a whitetail's back is 16" in hight (average) from top to bottom... And in your scope it fits inside of 4 hashes.

16/4 = 4
4 x 100 = 400

Your approximate distance to your target is 400 yards. So, dial up the number of clicks your ballistics chart tells you to, from your zero'd yardage.

Simple.

"Give me a minute...I'm good. Give me an hour...I'm great. Give me 6 months...And I'm unbeatable." - Col. Hannibal Smith

Ignore everything I say, because I have a reading comprehension and memory problem...

Quote:
Originally Posted by WildRose View Post
The 284 is to the STW what a tricycle is to a Ninja.
Old 04-26-2013, 03:00 PM
Bronze Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by MudRunner2005 View Post
Easy as pie, if you get the MOAR reticle. Yardage judging is simple with the MOAR reticle....If you know about how tall an object is in inches, look at it through your scope and see how many mil-hashes it fits inbetween in height. Divide your items known height (inches), by the number of hash marks it fits inbetween, then multiply by 100, and you have your approximate yardage to dial up.